Sri Krishna CAS scored a hard-fought 25-17, 25-22, 25-22 win over STC (Pollachi) to claim the men’s district league volleyball championship at the Nehru Stadium courts here on Sunday.

PSGR Krishnammal ousted Avinashilingam University 25-15, 25-16, 25-16 for the women’s title. Sri Krishna took home the T.S. Natarajan Memorial Trophy, and PSGR the Jayamani Dharmalingam Trophy.

The results (final): Men: Sri Krishna CAS (Cbe) bt STC (Pol) 25-17, 25-22, 25-22.

Women: PSGR Krishnammal (Cbe) bt Avinashilingam University (Cbe) 25-15, 25-16, 25-16.

SREC lifts title

Sri Ramakrishna EC topped the league table to clinch the PSG Tech Trophy in the seventh State-level inter-engineering handball tournament at the PSG Tech courts on Sunday.

Surya Engineering College (Erode), PSG Tech ‘A’ and CIT finished for the next three places.

Stanley P. Mathew, District Sports Officer, SDAT (Coimbatore) gave away the prizes.

Hariharan scalps five

Mediumpacer A. Hariharan picked five for 17 in Rainbow CC’s three-wicket win over Sir Robert Stanes MCC in the TNCA-CDCA first division league at the SNR Sons grounds in Coimbatore on Sunday.

The scores: I div.: Sir Robert Stanes MCC 100 in 31.1 overs (A. Hariharan five for 17) lost to Rainbow CC 102 for seven in 32.1 overs (T. Ashok 32 not out, V. Arumugapandi four for 24); Rainbow Jeeva CC 126 in 36 overs (S. Mohan Prasath three for 27, M. Kathiresan three for 32) lost to RKS CA 129 for four in 28.5 overs (G.R. Sasidharan 31).

III div.: Senthil Srinivasan MCC 188 in 46.4 overs (K. Balachandran 42, G. Samuel Rajan 35) lost to Kaleeswar CC 191 for nine in 49.2 overs (K. Dilip 55, P. Rajesh 52, V. Selvaraj four for 31).

IV div.: Cosmo Village SA ‘B’ 161 in 40.2 overs (Vanaraj 34, Rangaraj three for 31, S. Vinoth Kumar three for 33) bt South Indian Manchester CC 105 for eight in 38 overs (S. Ashok Kumar 40, V. Manikandan 31, Janagan three for 23, Santhosh three for 11).

Lucky Star triumphs

Lucky Star CC edged out Tirupur Textiles RC by 10 runs in the final of the DCAT T20 tournament in Tirupur recently.

The scores: Final: Lucky Star CC 158 in 19.5 overs (J. Prasanna 36, G. Jayakumar three for 24) bt Tirupur Textiles RC 148 for nine in 20 overs (K. Ganeshan 59, V. Bazeer Mohamed 50, K. Senthil four for 27).

Easy victory

GIO Sports Club coasted to a five-wicket win over Tirupur CA in the TNCA-DCAT first division league recently.

The scores: Tirupur CA 147 in 38.5 overs (P. Subramani 41, D. Manikandan three for 32, R. Prabhakaran three for 31) lost to GIO SC ‘A’ 148 for five in 31 overs (G. Krishnamurthy 32, R. Ansari 52 not out, S. Santosh three for 37).

Cricket tournament

The District Cricket Association of Tirupur (DCAT) invites entries from Tirupur district teams for the league entry knock out tournament for the year 2013-14. The last date for registration is February 28.

For details, contact DCAT, No. 7, White Field, Kumar Nagar, Tirupur 641 603 (ph: 0421 4340040, 98946 11035, 95855 91124, 93442 07615).

More In: Sport