After a break of two and half months since the Mumbai racing season, the  Pune season gets underway on July 18. It will go on till October 27, as per the prospectus advertised by the RWITC. In all 29-race days will be held during the season.

Mr. Vivek Jain, Chairman, Marketing Committee, RWITC, while addressing the media on Wednesday said “the advertised prize money of about Rs. 8.5 crore, including trophies, is about 7 per cent higher than last year’s and the highest for monsoon racing centre in India. As usual the RWITC has continued to attract sponsorships for the season and the contributions are over Rs. 1.10 crore.”

He also said that “In a new initiative, 20 per cent of the sponsors’ contribution will be set aside to add to the corpus of the Club for distribution as general stakes. This has been done on a voluntary basis, at the discretion of the sponsor.”

“The Pune season’s two Grade I races will be the Nanoli Stud Pune Derby (Oct.13) and the Signature Premier Indian St.Leger (Sept. 29). The Pune Derby has become synonymous with Nanoli Stud which is sponsoring Western India’s first classic for the new crop for a record 17th year in a row. The Dhunjibhoy family will also sponsor the Sprint Million on the same day. The Derby weekend will also feature the hugely popular Oktoberfest, for the fourth year running, thanks to the munificence of the Indo-German Chamber and its associates” he stated.

Mr. Jain added that “the Committee was taking steps for improvement in infrastructure every year for both horses and members. The popular LED screen would once again be placed across the track. There will be three LED screens, two on the track and one near the Paddock for better viewing. The main track between 2000 metres and 1400 metres has been converted into a monsoon track.

“The RWITC Committee has decided to introduce for the first time for any racing club in India, Championship Awards for champion sprinter, stayer, middle distance horse and juvenile. A horse has to run in all three races of the respective category and win at least two to be eligible for a bonus of Rs one million. There will also be a cash award of Rs. one million, for the Champion Horse of Pune meeting, who has to win at least four races during the season.”

Racing dates: July: 18, 19, 25 & 26. August: 3, 4, 10, 11, 15, 18, 24, 25 & 31. September: 1, 7, 8, 14, 15, 21, 22, 28 & 29. October: 6, 12, 13, 18, 19, 26 & 27.

Keywords: Pune racing

More In: Races | Sport