The Mumbai racing season 2013-14 will commence from November 17, according to the RWITC. The prize money is more than Rs. 19 crore over 43 race days.

Around 1,300 horses will be stationed at the Mahalaxmi stables under the charge of 45 licensed trainers during the season.

Similar to Pune, Mumbai racegoers will have the privilege of watching races on big LCD screens. The Club will be installing two screens across the Grand Stands, two screens in Bookmakers’ ring, two screens in the Paddock area and a screen in the first enclosure.

Chief attraction

The piece de resistance of the season remains the McDowell Signature Indian Derby Weekend. The United Spirits Ltd. which is continuously sponsoring this event for more than 25 years, this year’s total prize money for the Indian Derby will cross the Rs. 3 crore-mark.

Another crowd-puller of the season is the Poonawalla Breeders’ Multi-Million will be held on February 23, 2014 and this year’s total stakesmoney is expected to cross Rs. 2 crore.

Newly introduced at last year’s Pune racing season, the championship awards for the horses will be given away at the end of the Mumbai season.

The awards will be in the following category: Champion Sprinter, Champion Middle Distance Horse, Champion Stayer and the Champion Horse of the Season. Each champion would win a cash award of Rs. 1 million.

First three Indian Classics of the season would see new sponsors this season. The Indian 1000 Guineas and 2000 Guineas will be sponsored by the Victor Hotels and Motels Ltd, i.e. Deltin Casinos Indian 1000 Guineas and Deltin Casinos Indian 2000 Guineas.

The Indian Oaks, which is also known as the Ladies Derby will be sponsored by Dr. Cyrus Poonawalla and will be named after his late wife Villoo Poonawalla.

For the first time Parsi Punchayet will be sponsoring a Zoroastrian Race Day on December 29, 2013. Some of the attractions of the day will be Zoroastrian Multi-Million, Villoo Poonawalla Foundation Million, Darashaw Million, Gool & Soli Poonwalla Memorial Million, Shapoorji Pallonji Infrastructure Million and Nanoli Stud Million.

As the Royal Western India Turf Club (RWITC) completes 130 years in 2014 at Mahalaxmi race course, the Tata Housing will be sponsoring the Mahalakshmi 130 yrs Anniversary Turf Championship on March 30, 2014.

Important races: Gracias Saldhana Memorial Million (Dec. 8), Deltin Casino Indian 1000 Guineas (Dec. 15), Deltin Casino Indian 2000 Guineas (Dec. 22), Zoroastrian Race Day (Dec. 29), R.R. Ruia Gold Cup (Jan. 9), Villoo Poonawalla Indian Oaks, Gool S.Poonawalla and Sahaan Million (Jan. 18), Kunigal Stud Breeders’ Produce Stakes (Feb. 1), McDowell Signature Indian Derby (Feb. 2), Byramjee Jeejeebhoy Eclipse Stakes Of India and Dr. S.C. Jain Sprinters’ Champonship (Feb. 9), Poonawalla Breeders’ Multi-Million (Feb. 23), Forbes Breeders’ Juvenile Fillies’ Championship and Shapoorji Pallonji Breeders’ Juvenile Colts’ Championship (Mar. 16) and Tata Housing presents the Mahalakshmi 130 yrs Anniversary Turf Championship (Mar. 30) and  Maharaja Sir Harisinghji Trophy (Apr. 13).

Racing dates: November: 17, 21, 24 & 28. December: 1, 5, 8, 12, 15, 19, 22, 26 & 29. January: 2, 5, 9, 16, 18 & 23. February: 1, 2, 9, 13, 16, 20, 23 & 26. March: 6, 9, 13, 16, 20, 23, 27 & 30. April: 5, 6, 12, 13, 19, 20, 26 & 27.

Keywords: Mumbai races

More In: Races | Sport