More than 600 horses will take part in the 45-day Madras racing season which commences here on Nov. 2 and concludes on March 25, 2010. One hundred and twenty five two-year-olds will be racing during the season.

Mr. B. K. Amanullah Khan, Secretary, Madras Race Club, who briefed the press, said that the total stake money offered was Rs. 13,45,52,000 including the value of cups. Three hundred and thirty races have been framed for the season. Eighty nine of them are cup races.

To perpetuate the memory of former Committee Members of MRC, Class I cup races are being run. The latest in this list is the M. Vijayakrishna Memorial Cup.

Outstation horses are eligible to take part only in the following races: The South India 1000 Guineas (Gr. II), South India 2000 Guineas (Gr. II), Poonawalla Stud Farm South India Oaks (Gr. I), South India Corporation South India Derby Stakes (Gr. I), South India St.Leger (Gr.II), Capricorn Stud Farm Christmas Cup (Gr. III), Northern India Breeders Madras Gold Vase (Gr. III) and the Guindy Grand Prix (Gr. III).

To become eligible for the incentives and to participate in any race, horses 6-years-old and below starting with races for Class IV and above, should have arrived here before Oct. 27, 2009. Fifteen trainers and 50 jockeys will be in action during the season.

Racing dates:

Nov. 2, 4, 9, 11, 16, 18, 23, 25 and 30. Dec. 2 (South India 1000 Guineas), 7, 9, 16 (South India 2000 Guineas), 17, 21, 23, 28 and 30. Jan. 2010: 4, 6 (Poonawalla Stud Farm South India Oaks), 11, 14 (South India Corporation South India Derby Stakes), 18, 20, 27 and 28. Feb. 1, 3, 4, 15, 17 (South India St. Leger), 18, 22, 24 and 25. March 1, 3, 10, 11, 14, 17, 18, 21, 24 and 25.

More In: Races | Sport