The Bangalore Winter racing season 2013-14, covering 30 days, is scheduled to commence on Saturday, Nov. 2 and will conclude on Saturday, March 22, 2014. Racing will be held mainly on Fridays and Saturdays. Concurrently Winter races will be held in Mysore over 15 days mainly on Wednesdays, commencing from Wednesday, Nov. 13.

Briefing the media here on Wednesday the BTC Chairman and Senior Steward Mr. V. Harimohan Naidu said that estimated total outlay for the season would be Rs.18.30 crores, covering stakes, incentives and subsidy, as compared to Rs.16.30 crores paid during last winter. Ten per cent incentive would be paid on stakes earned in ordinary races by horses bred in Karnataka. Twenty per cent incentive would be paid on stake money earned by small owners of local horses in ordinary races.

While efforts were being made to secure sponsor for the Bangalore Derby (Jan. 26, 2014), the following races will be sponsored: Karnataka Racehorse Owners Association Trophy, D.P. Sharma Memorial Sprinter’s Trial Stakes, Abaran Bangalore 1000 Guineas, P. Dayanand Pai & P. Satish Pai Bangalore 2000 Guineas and Hosmat Hospital Bangalore Winter Million, said the Chairman.

Racing dates: Nov.: 2, 8 and 9, 15, 22 and 23, 30; Dec.: 6 and 7, 14, 20 and 21, 28; Jan.: 3 and 4, 10, 17, 25 and 26, 31; Feb.: 8, 14 and 15, 21 and 22; March: 7 and 8, 14, 21 and 22.

More In: Races | Sport