Updated: February 4, 2014 02:46 IST

Prithviraj named FMSCI president

Special Correspondent
Comment   ·   print   ·   T  T  
J. Prithviraj. Photo: R. Ravindran
The Hindu
J. Prithviraj. Photo: R. Ravindran

The Federation of Motor Sports Clubs of India named J. Prithviraj its new president and announced the formation of its governing council for 2014-15 at a press conference here on Monday.

Prithviraj, who was nominated to the post by the Council, said his focus would be to ensure that “the policies and procedures take precedence, and not just the people involved”.

Prithviraj has been a part of the rallying scene for over two decades, both as a participant and organiser. He has been a councillor since 2007, was vice-president of FMSCI for two years and Chairman and member of various sub-committees.

“As part of the last council, our biggest achievement was bringing Formula One to India. Now our role will be to ensure that we maximise the benefits of that to build national motorsport events across the country,” he said.

“We are also looking at coming under the ambit of the Right to Information act,” he said.

Prithviraj said FMSCI would continue to make sure that motorsport reaches all parts of the country. “The North East has already proved a popular motorsporting venue. We will continue to give more importance to the region,” he said.

Sanjay Sharma, (alternate) councillor of the Himalayan Motorsports Association, who chaired the meeting, said two-wheeler racing would be the “first priority” and that FMSCI would make all efforts to have more manufacturers enter competitive racing.

He also promised to “bring back the golden era of rallying”.

The eight-member Council: Coimbatore Auto Sports Club (headed by J. Prithviraj), Karnataka Motor Sports Club (R. Bharath Raj), Madras Motor Sports Club (Ajit Thomas), Performance Cars Racing Trust (Tutu Dhawan), Meco Motorsport Pvt. Ltd (Akbar Ebrahim), Spitfire Motor Sports Pvt. Ltd., (J. Balamurugan), Motorsports Club of Chikmagalur (Farooq Ahmed), Himalayan Motorsports Association (Vijay Parmar).

More In: Sport | Motorsport
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Pages from the past Digging out some classic articles from our exhaustive archives.

That night...June 25, 1983

Field Marshal extraordinaire

Giving the boys their due

The fascinating journey with Lara

Salute to a great team in decline

Let us resolve...

It isn't cricket



Recent Article in Sport

Madison Keys (right) of the U.S. shakes hands with compatriot Venus Williams after winning the women's singles quarter-final match at the Australian Open 2015 tennis tournament in Melbourne on Wednesday, January 28, 2015.

Australian Open: Venus Williams crashes out in quarters

The semifinalists from the other half of the women’s draw have already been determined No. 2 Maria Sharapova will play No. 10-seeded Ekaterina Makarova on Thursday. »