Updated: October 1, 2012 17:51 IST

Pradyumna Prakash triumphs

Sports Reporter
Comment   ·   print   ·   T  T  

Pradyumna Prakash triumphed in the Open category of the MGC Sportstar Open golf tournament here on Sunday. Pradyumna, who was one of the three overnight leaders on 75 gross, won with a score of 148 gross.

“I had come close to winning this twice before. So I am happy to win a tournament that I always wanted to,” said Pradyumna.

The 23-year-old added that the high roughs and the low greens in the course suited his style of play.

Dr. Selvaraj was the first runner-up with 150 gross and defending champion V. Darshan finished the third runner-up with a score of 151 gross.

In the handicap category, Abinav Suresh won with a score of 141 nett. Neeraja Lakshmi was adjudged the ladies winner. In the senior division, N. Chandrasekar, the defending champion, won with 145 nett.

Nirmal Shekar, Editor of Sportstar gave away the prizes. Congratulating the winners, he said that he was glad to see more number of young amateurs taking part in the tournament.

The results (winners all):

Open category: Pradyumna Prakash (148 gross).

Handicap: Abinav Suresh (better II day) (141 nett).

Seniors: N. Chandrasekar (145 nett); Stableford: Chummar Verghese (39 pts); Bogey: Capt. Sanjeev Mehta (+5).

Longest drive: Abinav Suresh; Closest pin: R. Sanjay; Wooden spoon: M. Sridhar; Team: Ashwath Achanta, Muthukumaran, V.R.F. Paulraj (287 nett).

More In: Sport | Chennai
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Indian Super League - 2014

More Indian Super League - 2014 »

The Hindu's Sports Editor Nirmal Shekar speaks to Arun Venugopal on India's loss to Serbia in the Davis Cup, Rahul Dravid's speech on cricket's great oral tradition, and chucking in cricket. »



Recent Article in Sport

Suresh and Kalainesan hog limelight

D. Suresh’s seven for 30 set up Suriya GOI’s six-wicket win over SK XI in a first division match of the Villupuram DCA league recently.<... »