The pressure got to Shooting For Success, USA, in the last two minutes with players fumbled when it mattered most, enabling Western Railway pull off a deserving 84-81 win in the men’s final of the 27{+t}{+h} Ramu Memorial Basketball Tournament, organised by Indian Gymkhana at the court on Sunday night. Limar Wilson, SFS, USA and S Kokila, Southern Railway, were named ‘Best Player’ in either category.

Southern Railway outplayed South East Central Railway 64-47 in the women’s final. Geethu Anna Jose and S Kokila shared the honours with 19 points each for the winners, while Renjini Peter scored 15. For the losers Bharti Netam with 24 and Anju Lakra 16 did the bulk of the scoring. Western won Rs 1 lakh, SFS Rs 50,000. Southern Railway won Rs 50,000, while South East Central Railway had to be content with Rs 25,000.

Western ran away with the early lead of 22-17 in the first quarter, SFS settled down to a good rhythm with Charles Moore making his presence felt with his sharp shooting, which fetched him three three-pointers and a tally of 24 points. SFS went into half-time with a 42-33 led which they extended to 62-58 at the end of the third quarter.

The inclusion of Jasjyot Singh in the last quarter made the difference in Western’s fortunes as he scored four three-pointers and had a percentage of six from eight for field goals to help them keep abreast of SFS. Western were trailing 79-81 with less than two minutes left when Yadwinder brought them level with a drive in.

They then put immense pressure on the SFS forwards under their basket to steal the ball and set up Dilawar Singh to score or a 83-81 lead with less than a minute to go. Gagandeep, with his percentage shooting from under the basket, top-scored for the winners with 30 points.

An uncharacteristic fumble by experienced David Jones put paid to SFS’s chances and after Yadwinder had scored one from two free throws for the score to read 84-81, Jones then muffed an attempt for a three-pointer and time ran out for the teams from USA.

Scores: Men’s final: Western Railway 84 (Gagandeep Singh 30, Yadwinder Singh18, Jasjyot Singh 16) bt Shooting For Success, USA 81 (Charles Moore 24, Wilson Limar 20, Joey Shank 13).

Women’s final: Southern Railway 64 (Geethu Anna Jose, S Kokila 19 each, Renjini Peter 15) bt South East Central Railway 47 (Bharti Netam 24, Anju Lakra 16).

More In: Other Sports | Sport