Vishnu Prasad and Gaurav Gill got tremendous applause at the FMSCI (Federation of Motor Sports Club of India) 2013 awards function. The former was named the Motorsport Person of the Year, the latter became the first Indian to win the APRC title.

Scrutineer K. Krishnamurthy was given a standing ovation on Saturday night after being chosen for the Lifetime Achievement award.

Vishnu’s talent came to the fore at the JK Tyre Racing India Series, emerging the senior national karting champion in FB02 car at the FMSCI JK Tyre National Rotax Max Karting.

Gill, driving a Skoda Fabia S2000 rally car for Team MRF, finished ahead of the pack at the Asia Pacific Rally Championship 2013. He was the champion driver at the Indian National SUV Rally Championship 4W too.

The Lifetime Achievement awardee, Krishnamurthy, talked about threats to his life from drivers unhappy with his forthright approach to safety and gratitude from others thanking him for saving their lives at the wheel. Vicky Chandok, ex-FMSCI president, explained the reasons behind choosing the scrutineer for the honour. Gautam Singhania announced a Rolling Trophy and Rs two lakhs award for the Most Promising Indian youngster.

Others in the spotlight for individual achievements abroad were Narain Karthikeyan (Auto GP wins and podiums), Armaan Ebrahim (FIA GT Series podiums), Karun Chandhok (Dubai 24-hour race podium), Sanjay Takle (FIA Asia Production Cup winner), Raj Bharath (Formula Masters China podiums), Jehan Daruwala (British Karting Championship winner), Kush Maini (WSK Cadet Class 2nd place), K. Rajini (Losail Asia Road Racing Championship), R. Deepak (Losail Asia Road Racing second place) and K. Jagan (FIM Asia Cup Road Racing Series third place).

Team Mahi Racing was singled out for bagging the constructors’ title at the World Super Sport Championship.

The National champions were felicitated in all categories of MMSC FMSCI National Racing Championship, FMSCI Indian National Rally Championship, JK Tyre FMSCI National Rotax Max Karting Championship, FMSCI Indian National TSD Rally Championship, FMSCI Indian National Motorcycle Racing Championship and MRF MoGrip FMSCI National Supercross Championship.

FMSCI president J Prithviraj also spoke at the function.

The award winners: FMSCI Indian National Rally Championship 4W: Amittrajit Ghosh (driver) & Ashwin Naik (co-driver).

INRC champion 1600cc: Arjun Rao & Satish Rajagopal; Slideways Industries (team).

Junior INRC champion: Suhem M.K. & Zayne Asrar; Slideways Industries; IRC champion: Sumit Panjabi & Dr. S. Dinesh; JCT Rallying.

SUV INRC champion: Gaurav Gill & Musa Sherif; Mahindra Adventure.

MMSC FMSCI National Rallying champion: Ashwin Sundar (MRF FF 1600 driver); S. Narendran (LGB Formula 4 driver), Wallace Sports (LGB F4 team), N. Leelakrishnan (Indian Touring Car driver), Big Foots Racing (Indian Touring Car team), S. Feroze Khan (Indian Jr Touring Car driver), Team Red Racing (Indian Jr Touring Car team).

JK Tyre National Rotax Max Karting champion: Pradyumn Danigond (Micro Max driver); Krishnaraj Mahadik (Jr Max driver); Vishnu Prasad (Sr Max driver).

FMSCI TSD INRC champion: K.P. Karthick Maruthi (TSD driver), S. Shankar Anand (TSD navigator), K.P. Karthick Maruthi (TSD Pro-Expert driver), S. Shankar Anand (TSD Pro-Expert navigator), Chidananda Murthy (TSB Pro-Stock driver) & Sujith Kumar (navigator).

FMSCI Indian National Motorcycle Racing 2W: Group C upto 165cc Open champion: K. Jagan (rider), TVS Racing (team), Yamaha (manufacturer); Group D upto 165cc Novice: Meka Viduaj, Sparks Racing & Yamaha (manufacturer); Group D upto 130cc Novice: K.Y. Ahmed, TVS Racing & TVS.

MRF MoGrip FMSCI National Supercross champion: K.P. Arvind (Foreign Open 2/4 stroke 500cc), Suhel Ahmed (Novice Group C 2/4 stroke upto 260cc), Pramod Joshua (Indian Expert 2/4 stroke upto 260cc Group B & Group C), Naresh (Private Expert Class Group C 2/4 stroke upto 260cc), and Gaurav Khatri (Private Foreign Open 2/4 stroke 500cc).

More In: Other Sports | Sport