Sivananda Seshadri and R. Abhishek won the ‘Player of the Year' awards in the Tamil Nadu Table Tennis Association awards function at Velammal MHSS here on Sunday.

Sivananda received a memento and a cash prize of Rs. 2,000 for finishing State No.1 consecutively in 2010 and 2011 and for having won the team silver in the senior National championship in Lucknow.

Abhishek won a cash prize Rs. 5,000 for the year 2010 for having been a member of the Indian team in the Commonwealth Games and for bagging the team bronze in the senior National championship in Kolkata.

A total amount of Rs. 90,000 was distributed. Dhanraj Choudhary, Secretary, Table Tennis Federation of India, was the chief guest.

Keywords: table tennis