P.C. Thulasi and R.M.V. Gru Sai Dutt scored emphatic victories, to clinch the women’s and men’s titles at the Tata Open Badminton India International Challenge Series.

Fifth seed Thulasi downed Indonesian Febby Angguni in straight games in the women’s final staged at the Cricket Club of India courts on Sunday. R.M.V. Guru Sai Dutt, seeded No. 2 in men’s draw, out-hit countryman Sai Praneeth, seeded fourth, in the final.

Thulasi took 56 minutes to assert herself over Febby, the men’s final lasted 40 minutes.

The other Indians in contention for the title were women’s doubles pair of Aparna Balan & Siki Reddy, who went down fighting to top seeded Koreans Soo Hee Lee & Seung Chan Shin in three games.

The results:

Finals: Women: P.C. Thulasi bt Febby Angguni (Ina) 21-15, 21-13; Doubles: Soo Hee Lee & Seung Chan Shin (Kor) bt Aparna Balan & Siki Reddy 19-21, 21-13, 21-17.

Men: R.M.V. Guru Sai Dutt bt Sai Praneeth 21-19, 21-12; Semifinals: Guru Sai Dutt bt Aditya Prakash 21-11, 21-11. Sai Praneeth bt K. Srikanth 21-19, 16-21, 21-19. Doubles: Sung Hyun Ko & Young Dae Lee (Kor) bt Gun Woo Cho & Dae Eun Kim (Kor) 21-11, 21-10.

Mixed doubles: Irfan Fadhilah & Wenni Anggraini (Ina) bt Alfian Eko Prasetya & Gloria Emanuelle Widjaja (Ina) 21-16, 21-19.


Tata Open: Thulasi storms into finalDecember 16, 2012

Thulasi advances in Tata OpenDecember 14, 2012

More In: Other Sports | Sport