Tamil Nadu exhibited its all-round supremacy to begin its campaign with a 25-12, 25-14, 25-14 win over Himachal Pradesh in a women’s Group A match on the inaugural day of the 62nd National volleyball championship at the Teerthanker Mahaveer University indoor sports complex here on Saturday.

Tamil Nadu, featuring five members of the Madras University team that won the all-India inter-varsity title, banked on P. Narmada’s attacks and Elizabeth Paul’s fine blocks and placement to gather full three points.

The young Tamil Nadu players’ good individual form overshadowed their minor shortcomings. Narmada was exceptionally good in her attacks as she garnered points with her deep and powerful shots as Tamil Nadu opened up a six-point lead at the half-way stage of the opening set and extended it further.

Using her height, Elizabeth showcased some timely blocks and added useful points by finding the gaps. Libero K.S. Kavya made some outstanding saves, while setter K. Laxmi Priya played a crucial role with her swift movement as Tamil Nadu took the next two sets in similar fashion.

The Himachal girls suffered because of their below-par coordination and scores of unforced errors. Ankita Sharma and Neha Negi were the prominent scorers for the side.

In the men’s section, Goa, gearing up for the Lusofonia Games in January, rallied from two sets down to stun host Uttar Pradesh 10-25, 19-25, 25-19, 30-28, 15-10.

According to Goa coach Shyamsundar Tari, this was the first occasion when the team had begun the National championship with a win. It was also Goa’s first ever victory over Uttar Pradesh.

Meanwhile, the Tripura men’s team did not turn up for the event.

The results:

Men: Group A: Railways bt Haryana 25-14, 25-13, 5-23; Group C: Goa bt Uttar Pradesh 10-25, 19-25, 25-19, 30-28, 15-10; Group D: Jammu and Kashmir bt Mizoram 25-13, 23-25, 18-25, 26-24, 15-12; Pudducherry bt Jharkhand 25-20, 21-25, 25-20, 26-24.

Group E: Maharashtra bt Madhya Pradesh 27-25, 26-24, 19-25, 18-25, 15-10; Group F: Chandigarh bt Himachal Pradesh 25-13, 25-22, 25-17.

Women: Group A: Tamil Nadu bt Himachal Pradesh 25-12, 25-14, 25-14; Group C: Punjab bt Gujarat 25-17, 25-20, 21-25, 25-25; Group D: Odisha bt Jammu and Kashmir 25-13, 25-11, 25-16; Group E: Maharashtra bt Jharkhand 25-20, 25-7, 25-8.

More In: Other Sports | Sport