The Senior National Powerlifting Championships opens at the Jubilee Hall, here on Tuesday. Over 500 lifters from across the country will compete in the event, which concludes on September 8.

Strongman of India Sandeep Awari, strongwoman Vandana Dube, P. Suresh and D. Kusumam are among the prominent lifters for the five-day event. Indian Railways men and Uttar Pradesh women are the reigning team champions.

A feature of this championship is that it is for the first time that competitions will be held in the unequipped category. This will be the second time the city is hosting the event, after the first in 2005. The Nationals are being held in Kerala for the eighth time.

The championship was inaugurated on Monday by the International Powerlifting Federation Vice-President, Peter Thorne.

More In: Other Sports | Sport