The senior division volleyball league championships for men and women are all set for the start at the Mayor Radhakrishnan Stadium on January 17. The finals will be held on February 5.

Sponsored by SRM University and hosted by the Chennai District Volleyball Association, the three-week competition is looked forward to by the aficionadas for the quality and content that it offers every year.

Several national and international level stars will be featured in the championships.

Underling the factors that make the city league as outstanding in more ways than one, Walter Davaram, President, Nellai Friends, was confident that the competition would provide a feast for the spectators. Ten teams in the men's section and eight in the women's category will be featured.

Indian Overseas Bank defends the title for the fifth time. But the challenge this time from Customs, Indian Bank, Southern Railway and ICF is expected to be fierce than ever before. SRM and Tamil Nadu Police are the two promoted teams.

The men's winner will take home a cash award of Rs. 50,000, the runner up Rs.40,000, while the third and fourth placed teams will be rewarded Rs.30,000 and Rs.20,000 respectively.

Special prizes also are part of the monetary rewards. Mr. Tamizh Vendan, DC, Customs, announced a cash award of Rs. 3000 each for the best player in each position and Rs.5000 for the player of the tournament.

Mr. S. Davidson, DIG and President, CDVA, has offered a cash prize of Re. 2000 each for best woman player for each position. The women's champion team will be richer by Rs.25,000 with the second, third and fourth placed teams taking Rs 20,000, Rs.15,000 and Rs.10,000 respectively.

Mr. A. K. Chitrapandian, Secretary, CDVA, assured that the competition would be conducted as professionally as in the previous years.

The teams:

Men: IOB, Customs, IB, Southern Railway, SDAT, ICF, BSNL, Panimalar EC, SRM, and TN Police.

Women: St. Joseph's College of Engineering (holder), Sivanthi Club, GKM Club, TN Police, SDAT, Vels University, SRM and JEAS College.