Saurashtra Gym and Lady Doak College won the overall championship for men and women in the 58th senior weight lifting competition held at Victoria Edward Hall here on Sunday. Saurashtra Youth Gym finished runners up in both men and women categories.

The competition was inaugurated by M. Ismail, Secretary, Victoria Edward Hall. S.V. Kannan, Vice President, MDWLA, welcomed the gathering. V. Neethisekar, President , MDWLA, presided over the function. Deputy Commissioner of Police, R. Thirunavakkarasu, distributed the trophy to the winners.

P. Anandakumar, Secretary, MDWLA, delivered the vote of thanks.

The results: Men: 56 kg: 1. J.K. Vijayakumar (Saurashtra Youth Gym) 170 kg; 2. T.G. Arjun (Saurashtra Gym) 145 kg; 3. T.S. Suriya Prakash (Srinivasa Colony) 115 kg.

62 kg: 1. T.G. Sivanath (Saurashtra Youth Gym) 166 kg; 2. S. Sivaramakrishnan (Saurashtra Gym) 145 kg: 3. P.J. Bharath (Venus Gym) 125 kg.

69 kg: 1. R. Muthu Prabhakar (Saurashtra Gym) 180 kg; 2. M.S. Manikandan (Saurashtra Youth Gym) 175 kg; 3. J.K. Dhanasekar (Saurashtra Youth Gym) 152 kg.

77 kg: 1. N.B. Nagarajan (Saurashtra Youth Gym) 165 kg; 2. A. Srinivasan (Ayyanar Gym) 155 kg; 3. S.S. Balaji (Saurastra Youth Gym) 148 kg.

85 kg: 1. S. Athiyappan (Saurashtra Gym) 190 kg; 2. M.K. Balaji (Srinivasa Colony) 140 kg; 3. S. Kalidas (Srinivasa Colony) 140 kg.

94 kg: 1. S. Anburaj (Saurashtra Gym) 205 kg; 2. M. Jeyakumar (Ayyanar Gym) 175 kg; 3. G.C. Manikannan (Saurastra Gym) 175 kg.

Women: 48 kg: 1. M. Srikanakavalli (Lady Doak College (LDC) 65 kg; 2. K.S. Nagalakshmi (Saurashtra Youth Gym) 43 kg; 3. A. Nandini (Saurashtra Youth Gym) 39 kg.

53 kg: 1. M. Chinnamal (LDC) 65 kg. 58 kg: 1. V. Durga Devi (LDC) 65 kg; 2. E. Vijayalakshmi (LDC) 57.5 kg.

63 kg: 1. V. Karthika (LDC) 70 kg; 2. U. Uma Ponseka (LDC) 62.5 kg.

69 kg: 1. B. Aruna Grazy (LDC) 70 kg. 77 kg: 1.N.B. Vijayalakshmi (Saurashtra Youth Gym) 103 kg; 2. T. Tamil Selvi (LDC) 80 kg.

77+ kg: 1.S. Soumya (LDC) 55 kg.

Adhiyamaan moves up

At Hosur, host Adhiyamaan College of Engineering stormed into the men’s hockey semifinal with a convincing 4-1 win over Park Engineering (Coimbatore) in the Tamil Nadu Inter Engineering Sports (TIES 2013) at the ACE grounds on Tuesday.

MAM CET (Tiruchi), Kongu CE (Perundurai) and PSN CET (Tirunelveli) were the other teams that booked the last four berths.

The results: Ball badminton: Quarterfinals: St. Joseph’s CE (Chennai) bt SRIT (Coimbatore) 29-3, 29-5; Agni CT (Chennai) bt Valliammai CT (Chennai) 24-29, 29-27, 29-18; PSNA CET (Dindigul) bt Velammal CET (Madurai) 29-21, 29-11; JJ CET (Tiruchi) bt CIT (Coimbatore) 29-21, 29-11.

Chess: Final standings: 1. SSN CE 29.5 pts; 2. St. Joseph’s (Chennai) 28.5; 3. PSNA CE 22.5; 3. Kongu EC 22.

Hockey: Quarterfinals: Adhiyamaan CE (Hosur) bt Park EC (Coimbatore) 4-1; MAM CE (Tiruchi) bt PSN EC (Tirunelveli) 4-0; Kongu EC (Perundurai) bt Government CT (Coimbatore) 1-0; PSN CET (Tirunelveli) bt Mount Zion (Pudukottai) 4-0.

Volleyball: Pre-quarterfinal: St. Joseph’s CE (Chennai) bt Muthayammal CE 25-6, 25-11; Syed Ammal bt Karpagam (Coimbatore) 19-25, 25-20, 25-18; TCE (Madurai) bt CIET (Coimbatore) 25-22, 25-19; Kongu EC bt PSN CET 25-17, 25-20; MAM CE bt JJ CET 25-19, 25-16; KSR CE bt Jayam (Dharmapuri) 25-16, 25-16; KCG bt PAB CET 22-25, 25-11, 25-16; Panimalar EC (Chennai) bt Adhiyamaan CE 25-23, 25-18.

Five-wicket win

Colts CC did not sweat much on its way to a five-wicket win over Kents CC in the final of the NDCA-HPF Staff Club Rolling Trophy cricket tournament at the HPF grounds, Udhagamandalam, recently.

After bowling out Kents for 206, Colts scored the required runs with five wickets to spare.

The scores (final): Kents CC 206 (V. Arokianathan 50, S. Amal Simon 39, D. Manjunath 34, S. Sandeep three for 30) lost to Colts CC 207 for five in 36.3 overs (D. Arun Prakash 46, S. Sandeep 38 not out, D. Mallikanth three for 48).

Special awards: Best batsman: C. Mohan (Colts CC); Best bowler: T.G. Vineeth Kumar (Kents); Best all-rounder: S. Seyabudeen (Kents); Promising youngster: T. Nihas (Little Masters CC); Century maker: K. Dharshan (Youngstars CC); Player of the final: D. Arun Prakash (Colts).

Hat-trick by Hariharan

K. Hariharan picked four for 21, which included a hat-trick, as Laidlaw Memorial School thrashed St. Joseph’s Boys Anglo Indian Higher Secondary School by 10 wickets in the NDCA under-13 inter-school cricket tournament for the Selma Selai Gowder Memorial Rolling Trophy at the Laidlaw grounds recently.

The scores: St. Joseph’s 67 (K. Hariharan four for 21) lost to Laidlaw MS 69 for no loss in 12 overs.

Meivel makes merry

S. Meivel hit 96 as BMCC (Namakkal) defeated AVM CC by 18 runs in the TNCA-DCAN first division league at the ICL Colony grounds recently.

The scores: BMCC 158 in 32.5 overs (S. Meivel 96, R. Ravi four for 31, P. Vignesh four for 33) bt AVM CC 140 in 32.4 overs (Jagadeesan 29, A. Sathish four for 18, A. Rajesh Kumar three for 42.

More In: Other Sports | Sport