Heavy rain and erratic power supply combined to force the postponement of the evening session and left Richa Mishra as the only winner on the second day of the 64th National aquatic championship at the Sawai Man Singh Stadium here on Wednesday.

Swimmers, their parents and coaches patiently waited for two hours for the Swimming Federation of India to take the call. Though the rain had stopped, the rain-water collected by the poolside found no outlet.

With power supply suspended, the motor meant to pump out the water from the poolside could not be operated. Similarly, the filter system too was silent and the muddy water inside the pool discouraged the swimmers further.

The Swimming Federation of India (SFI) General Secretary Virender Nanavati finally announced the postponement of the six finals slated for the evening after some sparks were witnessed from the rain-soaked switchboards when attempts where made to put on the halogen lights.

As a result, the finals of the 200m freestyle for men and women along with the 50m breast stroke for men and women will be held on Thursday.

The 400m freestyle for men and women has been reduced to a time-trial on Thursday morning. The 400m individual medley has been moved to the final day of the championship on August 28.

Earlier in the day, Richa collected her first gold of the meet by expectedly winning the 800m freestyle time-trial. On a day when Richa ensured her place in two more finals, she looked vary of junior national champion Vashi-based Surabhi Tipre. Richa went a bit too fast until the 400m mark and opened a good lead over Surabhi.

At that point, Richa looked well in sight of improving upon her National record of 9:10.96 minutes clocked in the Federation Cup in New Delhi in July. But the 27-year-old Richa ran out of steam in the second half of the race and eventually finished at 9:26.18.

Tipre, the 17-year-old talent and winner of the National junior title with an impressive time of 9:23.79 minutes in July, followed in 9:30.37, well ahead of her Maharashtra teammate Kanchi Desai.

The results: Women: 800m freestyle: Richa Mishra (Pol) 9:26.18; 2. Surabhi Tipre (Mah) 9:30.37; 3. Kanchi Desai (Mah) 9:50.67.

Water-polo: Men: Railways bt Punjab 11-3; Kerala bt Delhi 4-0; Services bt Manipur 21-2; Bengal bt Maharashtra 5-2.

Women: Maharashtra bt Delhi 11-0; Kerala bt Manipur 11-0; Police bt Bengal 9-1.

More In: Other Sports | Sport