Motor Rev Rajini Krishnan’s vast experience enabled him to win the Group C 165cc second race in the second round of the MMSC-FMSCI National two-wheeler racing championship at MMRT, Irungattukottai near here on Sunday.

The 32-year-old multiple National champion, who was trailing Sarath Kumar (B Strong Ten 10 Racing) and K. Jagan (TVS Racing) for the major part of the race, upstaged the two in the 12th corner of the sixth and final lap.

In the first race on Saturday, Rajini couldn’t complete one lap due to engine problems.

Rajini and a few others had earlier said they were not keen to take part in the second round if their demands for better promotion of the sport were not met. There seems to be a change in perception now.

“Sixty per cent of our demands are met,” said Rajini. This time, there has been better participation (more than 10 riders) in all the National championship category races.

The results: Group D 130cc: Race 1: 1. S. Kannan, 2. E. Saravanan, 3. Mithun Kumar; Race 2: 1. R. Harikrishnan, 2. K. Kannan, 3. S. Kannan; Group D 165cc: Race 2: 1. R. Harikrishnan, 2. V. Prabhu, 3. Naresh Babu; Group C 165cc: Race 2: 1. Rajini Krishnan, 2. Sarath Kumar, 3. K. Jagan. TVS RTR 180 Open: Race 2: 1. Mathana Kumar, 2. K.Y. Ahamed, 3. Arvind Ganesh. Honda CBR 150 novice: Race 2: 1. R. Rajanikanth, 2. Naresh Babu, 3. Vimochana Gadusu. Honda CBR 250 Open: Race 2: 1. Ramesh Kumar, 2. A. Prabhu, 3. Sumit Lucas Toppo. TVS RTR 180CC novice: Race 2: 1. S. Kannan, 2. Naresh Babu, 3. Malsawmdawnghiana.