Raj Chaudhary beat the reigning National champion Mampi Das by 3.4 points in the women’s air rifle of the fifth National shooting selection trials at the Dr. Karni Singh Range, Tughlakabad.

She topped the qualification and led from start to finish in the 20-shot final in which she found the 10s 19 times.

Olympian Anjali Bhagwat, who had qualified in the second place along with Aprajita Singh 0.1 point behind Raj, beat Aayushi Gupta to the third place by 0.5 point.

Asian champion Pooja Ghatkar, former national champion Apurvi Chandela, World Champion Tejaswini Sawant and World championship finalist Avneet Sidhu failed to make the final.

In the women’s rifle 3-position event, Meena Kumari topped the table 0.8 point ahead of K.C. Hema, after making the final in the seventh place with a modest score of 565. While Tejaswini beat Raj Chaudhary to the third spot, the qualification topper Anjali was eliminated in the first stage.

In men’s air pistol, Om Prakash beat Olympic silver medallist Vijay Kumar by 4.1 points for the top slot.

The results: Men: 10m air pistol: 1. Om Prakash 203.8 (580); 2. Vijay Kumar 199.7 (574); 3. Amit Kumar Pilaniya 178.9 (576).

25m standard pistol: 1. Harpreet Singh 567; 2. Vijesh Kumar 566; 3. Amanpreet Singh 566.

Women: 10m air rifle: 1. Raj Chaudhary 207.8 (414.3); 2. Mampi Das 204.4 (412.8); 3. Anjali Bhagwat 182.5 (414.2).

50m rifle 3-position: 1. Meena Kumari 449.4 (565); 2. K.C. Hema 448.6 (572); 3. Tejaswini Sawant 436.7 (574).

50m rifle prone: 1. Kuheli Gangulee 613.9; 2. Meera Kumari 613.8; 3. Meena Kumari 613.2.

More In: Other Sports | Sport