In a repeat Petroleum will face the Railways in the men’s team final of the 43rd inter-Institutional table tennis.

In the semifinals held here that Khudiram indoor stadium here on Thursday, Petroleum and Railways scripted contrasting wins to ensure their passage to the title round.

In the women’s category too Petroleum and Railways set up the final clash, winning their last-four round duels with consummate ease.

Making his first appearance in the season, India’s most accomplished performer Achanta Sharath Kamal used his trademark aggression to good effect and helped Petroleum men ease into the final.

In the semifinal tie against Central Revenue Sports Board, Sharath Kamal defeated Eric Fernandez 11-8, 11-8, 11-7. Reigning national champion Anthony Amalraj and young Olympian Soumyajit Ghosh matched the good work of the senior pro and methodically demolished their opponents 3-0.

In the other semifinal, Railways rode on the good work of Anirban Nandi to get the better of Airport Authority of India (AAI) 3-1.

Nandi, who has given the best of his career to Railways, won two matches to ensure the final berth after his younger colleague Aman Balgu had lost to Raj Mondal (1-1).

E. Prabhakaran got the better of T. Nithin in the decider of the third rubber (3-2) to help Railways regain the lead before Anirban outplayed Raj Mondal to seal the tie in favour of Railways.

The Petroleum women’s team had uncharacteristic start when Mousumi Paul lost her opening match in straight games to Mamta Prabhu of Dena Bank.

But the presence of current and former national champions Poulomi Ghatak and Mouma Das helped Petroleum claw back into the action as the two won their respective matches.

Railways led by seasoned Anindita Chakraborty also played well to overcome the challenge of AAI 3-0.

The Petroleum youth boys and girls retained the team titles to pave way for the seniors to accomplish yet another sweep of team titles.

The results: Men: Semifinals: PSPB bt CRSB 3-0 (A. Amaraj bt Devesh Karia 11-6, 11-8, 11-8, Soumyajit Ghosh bt Sayan Paul Roy 11-5, 12-10, 11-3, A. Sharath Kamal bt Eric Fernandez 11-8, 11-8, 11-7); RSPB bt AAI 3-1 (Anirban Nandi bt S. Sriram 9-11, 11-6, 11-8, 7-11, 11-9, Aman Balgu lost to Raj Mondal 11-2, 4-11, 4-11, 5-11, E. Prabhakaran bt T. Nithin 9-11, 11-8, 7-11, 13-11, 11-8, Anirban Nandi bt Raj Mondal 11-7, 14-12, 8-11, 11-7). Quarterfinals: PSPB bt LIC 3-0; CRSB bt IA & AD 3-0; AAI bt FCI 3-0; RSPB bt RBI 3-0.

Women: Semifinals: PSPB bt Dena Bank 3-1 (Mousmi Paul lost to Mamata Prabhu 9-11, 8-11, 10-12, Mouma Das bt N. Vidya 11-8, 11-7, 11-9, Poulomi Ghatak bt Frenaz Chipia 11-4, 11-5, 118, Mouma bt Mamata 11-9, 11-8, 11-9); RPSB bt AAI 3-0 (Takeme Sarkar bt Nikhat Banu 3-11, 12-10, 7-11, 11-8, 11-9, Anandita Chakraborty bt Krittwika Sinha Roy 11-8, 6-11, 8-11, 11-7, 12-10, Shreya Ghosh bt A.V. Niveditha 11-1, 9-11, 11-5, 11-9). Quarterfinals: PSPB bt Air India 3-0; Dena Bank bt LIC 3-0; RSPB bt Indian Bank 3-1; AAI bt IA & AB 3-0.

More In: Other Sports | Sport