Nirmala College (Coimbatore), with 66 points, clinched the overall championship in the Bharathiar University inter-collegiate weightlifting championship for women here on Monday.

S. Ananthi of Nirmala College, who clinched the top spot in the 53kg category, was declared the outstanding weightlifter.

The results:

48kg: 1. M. Amutha (Nirmala), 2. R. Saranya (PKR CAS), 3. M. Amala (Bharathiar University). 53kg: 1. S. Anandhi (Nirmala), 2. M. Elakkiya (Bharathiar), 3. K. Radha (Nirmala). 58kg: 1. B. Chellamani (RVS), 2. S. Marshal Mercy (PKR), 3. K. Iswariya (Bharathiar).

63kg: 1. K. Parimala (NGM), 2. K. Vanitha (NGM). 69kg: 1. S. Mahadevi (Bharathiar), 2. S. Tamilselvi (Bharathiar), 3. C.V. Manju (PKR).

75kg: 1. V. Subam (PKR), 2. S. Vijayalakshmi (Nirmala), 3. A. Kalyani (PKR). Above 75-kg: 1. D. Dhivya (Nirmala), 2. L. Bhuvaneshwari (Nirmala), 3. N. Selvi (PKR). Outstanding weightlifter: S. Ananthi (Nirmala). Overall: 1. Nirmala College, 66 points, 2. PKR 60, 3. Bharathiar 52.

John shines

A fine all-round show by I. John Baptist (62 & three for 14) enabled Coimbatore Raiders CC score a 109-run win over Wings CC in the TNCA-CDCA first division league here on Sunday.

The scores:

First division (Pricol Trophy): Coimbatore Raiders 205 for nine (I. John Baptist 62, D. Srinivasan 31) bt Wings 96 in 34.1 overs (R. Venkatesh three for 19, I. John Baptist three for 14).

Sir Robert Stanes MCC 201 in 46.4 overs (Vijay Kumar 46, Arumugapani 38, Azharuddin seven for 48) bt RKS Kalvi Nilayam 145 in 44.3 overs (Azharuddin 39, Kamalesh five for 21).

Second division (Unidrive Line Trophy): Tirupur 201 for five in 50 overs (R. Kannan 64, P. Muthukumar 77 not out) bt Arumugam 182 in 48.2 overs (B. Girish 31, V. Sudhakar 34, A.K. Karthikeyan three for 31).

Third division (Servall Trophy): Senthil Srinivasan MCC 255 in 46.4 overs (P. Rajarajan 72, P. Srikanth 38, S. Ashok Kumar 33, G. Samuel Rajan 33) lost to Best VPs XI 256 for five in 47.2 overs (N. Vellaisamy 85, A. Vijaykumar 32 not out, R. Sasikumar three for 66).

Easy for Lawrence

The Lawrence School posted a five-wicket win over Good Shepherd International School in the NDCA under-18 inter-school cricket tournament at Udhagamandalam on Sunday.

The scores:

U-15: Riverside PS 379 for four in 40 overs (J. Monish 83, Yuvan Karthik 71, T. Mohanna Kannan 60, S.V. Mohana Prasad 44, R. Risoth 30 not out) bt Crescent CM 97 (Nirpesh 32 not out, R. Risoth three for 20).

U-18: Good Shepherd IS 188 (Chaliawala Dhruv 39, Aditya Banka 37, M.J. Belliappa three for 25, Adithya Pandian three for 35) lost to The Lawrence School 189 for five in 33.5 overs (K.B. Ranjeeb 60, Karan Dayal 45, Amar D. Gupta 35).

Jayaram CET wins

In Tiruchi, Jayaram CET bagged the men's overall championship in the Anna University of Technology-Tiruchi inter-zonal swimming meet.

The results:

Men: Freestyle: 50m: 1. M.P. Premnath (Saranathan), 2. K. Sathish (Mount Zion), 3. S. Rakesh Kanmani (PSNI); 100m: S. Rakesh Kanmani, 2. Nandakumar Rajamani (PABIIT), 3. U. Maharaja (Tiruchi EC); 200m: 1. Nandakumar Rajamani, 2. S. Rakesh Kanmani, 3. M. Pandian (Shanmuganathan); 400m: 1. Nandakumar Rajamani, 2. U. Maharaja, 3. S. Sathish (Kongunadu); 1500m: 1. S. Lakshminarayanan (Saranathan), 2. P. Pandian (Jayaram), 3. M. Dinesh (Kongunadu); 4x100m relay: 1. Jayaram CET, 2. Saranathan CE, 3. Tiruchi EC; 4x200m relay: 1. Jayaram CET, 2. Tiruchi EC, 3. Kongunadu CE.

Backstroke: 50m: 1. U. Maharaja, 2. P. Vijay (Jayaram), 3. M. Chandra Mohan (K. Ramakrishnan CE); 200m: 1. P. Vijay (Jayaram), 2. G. Vijayasanker (Tiruchi EC), 3. R. Dinesh Kumar (Saranathan).

Breaststroke: 50m: 1. J. Dinesh Pandian (KLN), 2. S. Balamurugan (Jayaram), 3. S. Vignesh (Kongunadu); 100m: 1. J. Dinesh Pandian, 2. S. Balamurugan (Jayaram), 3. S. Karthick (Shanmuganathan); 200m: 1. J. Dinesh Pandian, 2. U. Maharaja, 3. S. Balamurugan.

Butterfly: 50m: 1. J. Dinesh Pandian, 2. K. Sathish, 3. R.K. Dhilip Sriram (PSNA); 100m: 1. S. Ambigapathi (Jayaram), 2. B. Muthuramalingam (Jayaram), 3. S. Vignesh (Kongunadu); 200m: 1. S. Ambigapathi, 2. B.R. Surya (Saranathan), 3. M. Dinesh (Kongunadu).

Medley: Individual: 200m: 1. J. Dinesh Pandian, 2. K. Sathish, 3. S. Balamurugan; 400m: 1. P. Pandian (Jayaram), 2. S. Karthick, 3. G. Ramachandran (Shanmuganathan); 4x100m relay: 1. Jayaram CET, 2. Kongunadu CE, 3. Shanmuganathan CE.

Overall championship: 1. Jayaram CET, 2. Tiruchi EC, 3. KLN CE.