The third leg of the JK Tyre-FMSCI National Rotax Max karting championship begins at the Kari Motor Speedway here on Saturday.

The two-day event will witness 45 karters in action across Micro Max (7-12yrs), Junior Max (13-16) and Senior Max (15 and above) categories.

The teams in the fray are Meco Racing, Rayo Racing, Mohite Racing, and newcomers Dark Don Racing and India Karting.

Vishnu Prasad (Meco), who leads the points table in the senior class, will look to consolidate his lead. Krishnaraaj D. Mahadik and Pradyumn V. Danigund (both Mohite Racing) head the table in the junior and micro max class.

The qualifying and heats will be held on Saturday (Aug.17) followed by the pre-final and final the next day.