Rory McIlroy has been voted US PGA Tour player of the year after winning four times, including his second major championship.

The tour does not release how its players voted on the award, though not even Tiger Woods came close to the kind of year McIlroy had on the tour this year. He won the Honda Classic, two FedEx Cup playoff events against some of the strongest fields, and captured his second major when he won the US PGA Championship by eight shots.

McIlroy also won the US PGA Tour money title and the Vardon Trophy for the lowest scoring average.

John Huh was voted rookie of the year. He won an opposite-field event in Mexico and was the only rookie to reach the Tour Championship.

More In: Other Sports | Sport