Chandrakant Mali smashed three records while claiming his fourth title in the National weightlifting championship at the SRM University campus here on Wednesday.

Mali, who was matchless in the men’s 94 kg division, had a go at the National records and overhauled them comfortably.

He lifted a total of 343 kg — three more than the previous National mark of 340 set by policeman Sukhwinder Singh in Delhi nine years ago — to win the crown.

Jameer Hussain of Assam was a distant second with 312 kg, while Mandeep Singh of Uttar Pradesh was third with 307 kg.

Mali, a Commonwealth champion in 2011, was a class act as he raised the bar with some dashing performances and took the title race beyond the opponent’s reach.

The Armyman made a huge improvement of eight kgs to lift 153 in his third attempt and better the snatch record of 152 set by Sukhwinder in 2004.

The 25-year-old’s performance was more impressive in the clean and jerk.

He began from 181 kg after Jameer’s 175 kg and added another nine to go past his own record of 189 kg, created in the Commonwealth championship in Samoa last year.

However, his attempt to increase the mark to 192 kg was in vain.

Krishna lifts 69 kg title

Seasoned lifter K. Krishna Kumari’s patience and perseverance brought her a second National crown after 14 years. A 58 kg champion in 1999, Krishna warded off a strong challenge from home favourite Sushila Panwar to take the 69 kg women’s title.

The 36-year-old Central Industrial Security Force (CISF) employee, however, lost the battle in the snatch to 19-year-old Sushila.

The results: Men: 94 kg: 1. Chandrakant Mali (SSCB) snatch 153kg (NR, old 152 kg, Sukhwinder Singh, 2004), clean and jerk 190 kg (NR, old 189 kg, Chandrakant Mali, 2012), total 343 kg (NR, old 340, Sukhwinder Singh, 2004); 2. Jameer Hussain (Asm) 137 kg, 175 kg, 312 kg; 3. Mandeep Singh (UP) 136 kg, 171 kg, 307 kg.

105 kg: 1. M. Shyamlal (SSCB) 146 kg, 190kg (NR, old, 188kg, M. Shyamlal, 2012), 336 kg; 2. V.A. Christopher (RSPB) 145 kg, 182 kg, 327 kg; 3. Gurjeet Singh (UP) 147 kg, 178 kg, 325 kg.

Women: 69 kg: 1. K. Krishna Kumari (AIP) 80 kg, 105 kg, 185 kg; 2. Sushila Panwar (UP) 85 kg, 100 kg, 185 kg; 3. Rakhi Halder (WB) 73 kg, 98 kg, 171kg.

75 kg: 1. Srishti Singh (RSPB) 77 kg, 106 kg, 183 kg; 2. Kulbir Kaur (Pun) 80 kg, 102kg, 182 kg; 3. Kh. Premila Devi (RSPB) 81kg, 100 kg, 181 kg.

More In: Other Sports | Sport