Amittrajit Ghosh (co-driver Ashwin Naik) stamped his class yet again beating the rest of the bunch with relative ease to win the overall INRC title in the Rally of Coimbatore, the third leg of the FMSCI Indian National Rally Championship, at the Kari Motor Speedway in Coimbatore on Sunday.

The Kolkata youngster, who built a sizeable lead on Saturday, played it safe on the rough stages at the Kethanur Windmill Farm in the morning.

He later steered his Mitsubishi Cedia confidently on the Kari circuit during the Super Special Stage (SSS) for the top spot on the podium.

“I took it very easy today. I just planned to finish and managed to do that without any trouble,” said Ghosh.

Vikram Devadesan (G.M. Srikanth) and Phalguna V. Urs (D.S. Anoop Kumar) wrested the next two places respectively.

Gill tops once again

Gaurav Gill (Musa Sherif) was the fastest outright in both the stages in the SUVNRC class.

The stages were really tough but Gill cruised his Mahindra XUV500 with relative ease to finish on top.

“It was flawless coordination with Musa. We both had a strong understanding.

“Musa delivered the pace notes to perfection, while I just went about doing my job,” he added.

Stunning drive

Later, the APRC driver enthralled the crowd with his stunning drive at the straights and the corners during the SSS.

International star Karamjit Singh (Jagdev Singh) from Malaysia, who had some trouble with the power of his car on the opening day, made merry this time round.

“The car and the road were same as yesterday but it is just that we worked a bit hard.

“We are quite pleased with our show despite the powerful cars in fray,” said Karamjit.

Thirty one cars started the rally of which 22 finished the opening leg.

However, as per the Super Rally format five out of the nine competitors opted to run the second leg thus making it 27 cars fighting it out for honours on the final day. But for the SSS only 19 cars reported.

The results (provisional):

INRC overall: 1. Amittrajit Ghosh (Ashwin Naik); 2. Vikram Devadesan (G.M. Srikanth); 3. Phalguna V. Urs (D.S. Anoop Kumar).

INRC 1600: 1. Byram Godrej (Prajwal Pai); 2. Arjun Rao (Satish Rajagopal); 3. A. Mohammed Kasim (G. Sanath).

IRC: 1. Karamjit Singh (Jagdev Singh); 2. Sumit Panjabi (Chetan Shivram).

JINRC: 1. Asad Khan (Zayne Asrar); 2. M.K. Suhem (J. Jeevarathinam); 3. Rohan Pawar (Arjun Mehta).

SUVNRC: 1. Gaurav Gill (Musa Sherif); 2. Lohit Urs (Bonnie Thomas); 3. Sunny Sidhu (P.V. Srinivas Murthy).

More In: Other Sports | Sport