V. Darshan emerged winner in the Open category of the MGC-Sportstar Open golf tournament on Sunday. Darshan, one of the three overnight leaders on 76 Gross, won with a score of 151 Gross. He had bagged the title in 2007, 2009, and 2011 as well.

“The conditions were really hard. I was playing well, but things got close in the 17th hole when I had a quadruple bogey. I am glad I eventually won,” smiled Darshan.

Karun Jacob was the first runner-up with 153 Gross while S.M. Karthikeyan (154 Gross) finished second runner-up.

In the Handicap section, N. Veeraraghavan won with a score of 134 Nett. Prathiksha Ravi was adjudged the Ladies winner.

Nirmal Shekar, Editor of Sportstar, gave away the prizes. “The Kasturi & Sons group has been associated with golf for more than 30 years. It’s a sport that has made strides in the last 10-15 years. It is nice to see the standards improving every year,” he said.

The results:

Open: 1. V. Darshan 151 Gross, 2. Karun Jacob 153 Gross, 3. S.M. Karthikeyan 154 Gross; Handicap: 1. N. Veeraraghavan 134 Nett., 2. Dhananjay Das 138 Nett. (B/B), 3. Vivek Narendran 138 Nett.; Senior winner: S.P. Sharma 145 Nett.; Stableford: 1. C. Chandrasekar 40 points, 2. S. Ganesan 39 points (B/B); Bogey: 1. Ram Pramukh Reddy +3 points (B/B), 2. H.R. Srinivasan +3 points; Ladies winner: Prathiksha Ravi; Longest drive: H.R. Srinivasan; Closest pin: Shrenik Kumar; Wooden spoon: S.B.S. Raman; Team winners: N. Veeraraghavan, Muthukumaran, V.R.F. Paulraj, P. Selvaraj; Team runners-up: D. Nagaraj, S.B.S. Raman, H.R. Srinivasan, Dhiren Rajdev.

More In: Other Sports | Sport