At the first 2013 meeting of the FIA World Motor Sport Council, the representatives confirmed India’s Karun Chandhok’s nomination to the newly-created Drivers’ Commission.

Two-time Formula 1 World Champion Emerson Fittipaldi was confirmed as president with nine-time World Rally Champion Sebastien Loeb named as the vice-president.

Chandhok will join the 1992 World Champion Nigel Mansell and former Marussia test driver Maria de Villota in representing the rights and interests of drivers in single-seaters.

Plans to set up the Drivers’ Commission were made last year following the granting of provisional recognition by the International Olympic Committee (IOC) of the FIA as a federation.

More In: Other Sports | Sport