The Maharaja Yadavindra Singh memorial Indian Open shotgun championship, to be conducted concurrently with the Asian shotgun championship in Patiala from December 1, will offer $59,000 in prize money.

In a release issued here on Monday, the National Rifle Association of India (NRAI) announced that the winners in the men’s trap, skeet and double trap will get $13,000 each while the women’s champions in trap and skeet will get $10,000 each.

It was stated that 187 entries, including 110 for the Asian championship, had been received so far.

Italy, Turkey, Australia, and Scotland, apart from prominent shooters from India, are expected to compete in the Grand Prix event.

The Asian event had been conducted from 1981 and changed its name from Asian Clay shooting championship last year to Asian shotgun championship.

Bhattakarka Bunnag of Thailand has been appointed as the technical delegate for the Asian championship by the Asian Shooting Confederation (ASC).

Shooters from Kuwait, UAE, Thailand, Chinese Taipei, Singapore, Pakistan, Malaysia, Kazakhstan, Uzbekistan, Japan, Iran, Oman, Indonesia, The Philippines, apart from India, are expected to compete in the Asian championship.

India will field a 23-member contingent, including Manavjit Singh Sandhu, Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore, Ronjan Sodhi and Mansher Singh.

More In: Other Sports | Sport