Several international stars, including four Major champions and Indian stalwarts will be seen in action in the one-of-its-kind Golf Premier League (GPL), scheduled to be held at the Aamby Valley Golf Course, Maharashtra, from February 8-10.

The three-round day-night event will be played on a stroke-play-cum-best-ball format. Taking a leaf from the IPL, each round will be played over 14 holes with a shot clock allowing each golfer 30 seconds to play a stroke.

Launching the event here on Friday, professional golfer Shiv Kapur hoped that the $400,000 competition would help popularise golf in the country. “A round of golf is played over four-and-a-half hours. We have tried to keep it within three hours, so that people can watch it over television during the evening hours,” said Kapur. The event, offering Rs. 1.35 crore to the winning team, is the brainchild of Kapur and former amateur golfer Neeraj Sareen.

Five teams — Delhi Darts, Gujarat Underdawgs, Colombo Sixers, Shubhkamna Eagles and Tamil Nadu Pulis — will take part in the event. The Colombo team is owned by Sri Lanka Test captain Mahela Jayawardene.

Some champion golfers of the world like Angel Cabrera (US Open 2007, Masters 2009), Darren Clarke (British Open 2011), Michael Campbell (US Open 2005), Rich Beem (PGA championships 2002) have confirmed their participation. Also, Asian Tour giants Thaworn Wiratchant and Chapchai Nirat will be seen in action.

Apart from Kapur, ace Indian golfers like Gaganjeet Bhullar, Anirban Lahiri and several other leading players on the Professional Golf Tour of India (PGTI) will also participate. The auction of the players will be held shortly to finalise the teams.

More In: Other Sports | Sport