Olympic and world champion Anna Meares won the women’s 500-metre time trial in a Commonwealth Games record on Tuesday to give Australia its first cycling gold at New Delhi 2010.

Meares won in 33.758 seconds, beating the record of 34.326 she set in 2006. Poland’s Simona Krupeckaite holds the world record at 33.296 seconds.

Meares’ teammate Kaarle McCulloch took silver in 34.780 seconds, while the bronze went to Becky James of Wales in 35.236 seconds.

Meares had won a gold medal during the 2004 Olympic Games in Athens, by setting a then world record of 33.952 seconds.

Jack Bobridge set a games record in the men’s qualifying round of for the individual pursuit, finishing the 4,000-metre race in four minutes, 14.845 seconds.

Bobridge, who won the bronze medal in the event at the world championships, was competing against Peter Latham of New Zealand in the seventh heat.

The previous games record was 4-16.358, set by Bradley McGee of Australia in Manchester, England in 2002. The world record of 4-11.114 is held by Christopher Boardman of Britain, set in 1996.

More In: Other Sports | Sport