While most of the higher rated players had an easy ride in round one, second seed Saravana Krishnan was held by Arun Kumar in the 13th edition of the Adyar Times FIDE rated chess tournament at the Bapalal Bhavan here on Thursday.

Top seed R.A. Pradeep Kumar won after a rather long 64-move game. while third seed IM G.B. Prakash registered a 49-move win.

Important results (first round): R.A. Pradeep Kumar bt Manu David Suthandram, M. Arun Kumar drew with P Saravanakrishnan, G.B. Prakash bt B.C. Routray, S. Harikrishnan lost to N. Sudhakar Babu, Ram S. Krishnan bt B.S. Aswin Kumar, Alan Diviya Raj lost to B. Kumaran, R. Balasubramaniam bt S. Aswin, Jai Ganesh lost to Abhilash Reddy, R. Ashwath bt Roshan Antony, M.R. Sridhar lost to Akash Pc Iyer.

More In: Other Sports | Sport