Anjali Bhagwat shot 399 out of 400 and eventually missed a medal in women's air rifle following scores of 8.3 and 9.8 on the last two shots in the shooting World Cup in Munich on Wednesday.

The Sydney Olympics finalist Anjali, who had won the gold medals in the World Cup in Fort Benning and the World Cup Finals in Milan in 2003, recaptured the old magic following a series of 100, 100, 100 and 99. She missed a 10 on the 31st shot.

With the reigning World champion Yi Siling of China on 400 and five others on 399, it was a tough fight for the medals, but Anjali had the bronze in her grasp after the eighth shot despite having started the finals with a 9.8. However, the 8.3 pulled her down and she eventually finished seventh.

The young Mampi Das had shot 398, and had to endure a shoot-off with three others in the fight for the last spot in the final, but she eventually missed it by 0.2 points despite shooting 51.9.

Gagan falters

Earlier, it was almost a similar story for Gagan Narang as he shot 597 and missed the final by an agonising 0.5-point margin in the shoot-off in men's air rifle. World Championship bronze medallist and World record-holder, Gagan shot 50.4 in the shoot-off when seven shooters vied for five spots in the final. Gagan had a series of 99, 100, 100, 100, 99, 99 in qualification.

Reigning Olympic champion and former World champion Abhinav Bindra continued to stay close behind the leaders as he shot 596 to be placed 14th in a strong field of 118 shooters. He had a series of 100, 100, 99, 99, 98 and 100.

Gold for Wang Tao

Wang Tao of China secured the gold, 0.2 points ahead of Youth Olympics silver medallist Illia Charheika of Belarus and the reigning World champion Niccolo Campriani of Italy.

The results: Men: Air rifle: 1. Wang Tao 702.4 (599); 2. Illia Charheika (Blr) 702.2 (597) 10.8, 10.3; 3. Niccolo Campriani (Ita) 702.2 (598) 10.8, 10.1; 9. Gagan Narang 597; 14. Abhinav Bindra 596; 68. Satyendra Singh 590. MQS: Imran Hasan Khan 592; Chain Singh 581.

Women: Air rifle: 1. Yi Siling (Chn) 503.6 (400 EWR); 2. Andrea Arsovic (Srb) 503.5 (399); 3. Dariya Sharipova (Ukr) 502.7 (399); 7. Anjali Bhagwat 499.8 (399); 9. Mampi Das 398; 30. Ayonika Paul 396. MQS: Apurvi Chandela 397; Shriyanka Sadangi 396.

More In: Other Sports | Sport