Ernakulam’s A.S. Anand and Thiruvananthapuram’s A.R. Nikhil won gold medals in the National schools swimming championship which ended in Pune on Sunday.

Anand, from the Rajagiri School Swimming Academy here, won the under-17 boys’ 400m freestyle gold and two other freestyle silvers (200 and 800m) while Nikhil triumphed in the under-14 boys’ 50m butterfly and also a silver. Swimmers are allowed to take part in only three individual events. S. Arun (2 silver), and S. Arathi are the other silver medallists in the championship.

Kerala won 16 medals in all, including eight bronze medals with two of them coming from the Rajagiri Academy’s R.N. Sreeresh and A.J. Rohit.

SN Trust triumphs

International K.S. Poojamol’s 37 points went in vain as Kollam’s SN Trust defeated Mount Carmel 61-56 and won the girls’ title in the fourth KE Carmel Trophy all-Kerala schools basketball tournament at Muhamma on Monday.

In the boys section, Pulincunnu’s St. Joseph’s and Mannanam’s St. Ephrem will clash in the final.

The results: Boys: Semifinals: St. Joseph’s HSS, Pulicunnu 49 (S. Thahir 14, Manu 10) bt Girideepam Bethany, Ktm 15; St Ephrem, Mannanam 47 (Ajith Kumar 14) bt KE Carmel, Muhamma 40 (Joseph Sebastian 12, Litto Joseph 10).

Girls: Final: SN Trust, Klm 61 (P.G. Anjana 23, Arathy Vimal 13, Premi P. Lal 10) bt Mount Carmel GHS, Ktm 56 (K.S. Poojamol 37, Nishi Marium Kunjumon 10).

Krishnadas sizzles

Krishnadas hit an unbeaten 71 as SRK Gurukula Mandiram brushed aside Vaduthala’s Chinmaya Vidyalaya by eight wickets and entered the first phase final of the fourth Century all-Kerala schools cricket tournament at the St. Albert’s College ground, Kaloor, on Monday.

The other semifinal, between Bhavan’s Eroor and Edapally’s St. George ended in a tie but the latter, which lost fewer wickets, was declared the winner.

The scores: Chinmaya Vidyalaya, Vaduthala 143 in 20 overs (Sidharth 41, Saddam 34) lost to SRK Gurkula Mandiram, Tsr 145 for two in 16.1 overs (Krishnadas 71 n.o., Arjun 55).

Bhavans Vidya Mandir, Eroor 125 for nine in 25 overs (S. Abhishek 47, M. Abhilash 38) v St. George HSS, Edappally 125 for seven in 25 overs (Liston Augustine 67 n.o., Atul Raveendran four for 19).

More In: Other Sports | Sport