Chennai’s Vishnu Prasad stamped his authority with two victories in the second leg of the JK Tyre racing championship at the Kari Motor Speedway in Chettipalayam, near here, on Saturday.

Vishnu, who started on pole with a lap time of 1:06.799s, enjoyed a perfect start to the weekend with a smooth win in the opening race of the JK Racing India Series. After a good start, he kept improving with each lap to finish on top of the podium with a timing of 17:40.299s.

Vishnu was obviously pleased with his performance. “I am glad to have won this race and I thank JK for the great opportunity. I feel satisfied that I was consistent throughout the race,” he said.

Vishnu came back to clinch the top spot in the second race of the Formula LGB 4 class, which was run under wet conditions. Dark Don Racing’s Advait Deodhar raced to his first-ever podium finish by taking the second spot followed by Saran Vikram.

Local star and championship leader Sarosh Hataria of Dark Don Racing registered a lights-to-flag victory in the opening race of the Formula LGB4. “The vital set-up changes in the car mattered a lot,” said Hataria.

In the qualifying races for the JK Tyre Volkswagen Polo R Cup, Prashant Tharani bagged the top spot with a timing of 1:14.844s followed by South Africa’s Jeffrey Kruger, Samarth Jaiswal, Yatin Magu and Rahil Noorani.

The results: JK Racing India Series: Race 1: 1. Vishnu Prasad 17:40.299; 2. Arjun Maini 17:40.973; 3. Chittesh Mandody 17:41.161.

Formula LGB 4: Race 1: 1. Sarosh Hataria 19:41.340; 2. Saran Vikram 19:41.340; 3. Vishnu Prasad 19:41.980; Race 2: 1. Vishnu Prasad 21:59.648; 2. Advait Deodhar 22:00.454; 3. Saran Vikram 22:01.653.

VW Polo R Cup (qualifying): 1. Prashanth Tharani 1:14.844; 2. Jeffrey Kruger 1:15.099; 3. Samarth Jaiswal 1:15.460.