On a day when the defending champion Railways ‘A’ was trailing at the tenth position after the third round of the Ruia Gold Cup team event of the 54th winter National bridge championship at the Gitanjali Stadium, unfancied Ajay Bagaria’s team from Kolkata, represented by Ajay Bagaria, Gobinda Sinha, Sudhir Ganguly, Prasun Mukherjee, Pinaki Khan and Sadhan Bose, emerged the early leader with 65 Victory Points (VPs).

Following the leader was Texan from Chennai at the second spot with 64 VPs, Indian Blues and Jug Jwan, both from Mumbai, were are at the third spot with 63 VPs.

Railways ‘A’ was off colour at the first three rounds when it scored only 50 VPs to finish joint 10th after the third round of play.

More In: Other Sports | Sport