S. Muthu Kumar (120) A.K. Karunakaran (six for 74) were instrumental in Gandhi Nagar Starlets’ 95-run win over Air India in a recent fifth-division ‘D’ league cricket match.

P.R. Sylvester Jayan (111) proved the difference for Varsity Occasionals in a low-scoring match against Triplicane.

The scores:

V div. ‘A’: Jai Hind 180 for nine in 28 overs (A. Venkata Prasad 35, R. Sriram 54, S. Suresh 35, C. Gopal three for 51, R. Senthil Kumar three for 32) bt Bharat Petroleum Corp. 117 in 27.1 overs (T. Magesh three for 18, K. Venkatesh Sundar five for 27).

 V div. ‘D’: Gopalapuram 107 in 34.2 overs (K.S. Rajasegar 38 n.o., K. Vinobaji four for 19, K.B. Aneesh five for 32) lost to Ranji 110 for six in 28.5 overs.

Chennai P&T Audit 217 for eight in 45 overs (C. Amul Raj 76, E. Parthiban 35, S. Ajeeth Doss three for 60) bt Eccentrics 214 in 37 overs (U. Aswin 76, S. Ajeeth Doss 53, C.J. Yuvan Karthik 32, N.R. Venkat Raman five for 63).

Gandhi Nagar Starlets 312 in 45 overs (Mohammed Anas 37, A. Kalidasan 75, S. Muthu Kumar 120, R. Shiva Kumar five for 77) bt Air India 217 in 44.4 overs (V. Dhanashekar 36, S. Sriram 41, B. Mohan 45, V. Boopathi four for 43, A.K. Karunakaran six for 74).

Varsity Occasionals 199 for seven in 42 overs (P.R. Sylvester Jayan 111, S. Suresh three for 48) bt Triplicane 124 in 30.3 overs (Sai Ashwin Shekar four for 40, S. Sidharth three for 13).

Hunter’s XI 119 in 25.5 overs (K. Surendar 62, S. Hariharan five for 52) lost to Grove 123 for three in 21.1 overs (Pramod Sewan 31, T. Siddhartha 43 n.o.).

Vigneswara 193 in 43.4 overs (M.B. Murali Krishnan 78, S. Rajesh four for 42) lost to Companions 196 for three in 37.1 overs (J. Nijin 82 n.o., S. Rajesh 54).

U-16 tournament

An under-16 cricket tournament is being organised by P. Selvam with Pace Cricket Academy from September 3 to 16 in connection with the birthday celebrations of the Union Finance Minister, P. Chidambaram on a league-cum-knock-out basis. Further details can be had from P. Selvam (98843 77917).

St. Paul’s Cup from today

St. Paul’s Recreation Club will conduct a State-level inter-school hockey tournament for the St. Paul’s Cup from August 24 to 27 at the Mayor Radhakrishnan Stadium.

Eight teams, divided into two pools of four each, are taking part in the event.

Pool A: CSI St. Paul’s, Khaja Mian HS (Tiruchi), Velammal School, and Govt. Maddurasugars School, Vadipatti; B: YMCA Sports School, Madrasa-I-Azam, Christu Raja (Tirunelveli) and Don Bosco (Chennai).


SportsMay 14, 2012

More In: Sport | Chennai