Team MRF will take part in the FIA Asia Pacific Rally championship (APRC) with two Mitsubishi EVO X cars, one driven by Gaurav Gill (India) with Glen Macneall (New Zealand) as co driver, and the second car by Katsuhiko Taguchi (Japan) and co-driver Chris Murphy (Australia).

The first round is scheduled at Johor Bahru, Malaysia on April 24 and 25.

Seven rounds are being organised in the 2010 championships; FIA registered teams have to take part in six of the scheduled rounds to be entitled for the APRC title.

Team MRF will not take part in the New Caledonia round, but will participate in the Malaysian round, Obihiro (Hokkaido, Japan) on May 22 and 23, Whangarei (New Zealand) in July 3-4, Queensland, Australia in July 31-August 1, Makassar, Indonesia in September 25-26, and China in November 6-7.

The quest for the APRC title will be fairly competitive this year. Although Subaru driver Cody Crocker will not be competing this year, Team MRF drivers will be competing against the more formidable Subaru World Rally championship driver Chris Atkinson who was fairly successful in the recent World Rally championships.

Chris will be supported by co-driver Stephane Prevot driving a Proton Satria S2000 for the Proton R3 Team. The second car of the Proton R3 team will be driven by Alistair Mcrae with co-driver Bill Hayes.

The experienced Japanese driver Hiroshi Yanagisawa with Yoshimara Nakahara will be driving a Mitsubishi EVO X for the Cusco team and Rifat Sungkar will be the lone Subaru Impreza WRX driver representing the Pertamina Oil Team from Indonesia.

The APRC 2010 marks the introduction of the Super 2000 cars against the Group N4 cars in the series.

More In: Motorsport | Sport