Mars Racing’s Saran Vikram won the LGB Formula 4 race on the opening day of the 15th JK Tyre-FMSCI National Racing Championship at the Madras Motor Race Track, here on Saturday. The local lad Vikram also posted a best lap timing of 1:57.781.

In other events, V. Rajvirdhan of Prime Racing came from behind to win the first race in the Indian Touring Cars category as all the podium positions were swept by Coimbatore-based drivers.

The results: LGB Formula 4: 1. Saran Vikram (Mars Racing) 20:03.725s; 2. Ashwin Sundar (Dark Don Racing) 20:12.678; 3. Karthik Krishna (WSRF) 20:17.177.

Indian Touring Cars: 1. Vijaykumar Rajvirdhan (Prime Racing) 20:09.588; 2. Arjun Balu (Tiger Sport) 20:12.563; 3. N. Leelakrishnan (Big Foots Racing) 20:18.095. Indian Junior Touring Cars: 1. Fahad Kutty (Team Game Over) 26:08.935; 2. S. Narendran (IPL Powerpak) 26:10.033; 3. Diljith Shaji (Eram Group Sports Club) 26:14.065.

More In: Motorsport | Sport