The World Motor Sport Council has approved a new points system for the expanded 13-team Formula One championship next season.

Race winners will earn 25 points instead of 10, and the top 10 finishers will all be receiving points instead of only eight.

The change, which was proposed by the F1 Commission and ratified by FIA on Friday, is to accommodate the three extra teams on the grid.

Second-place drivers will earn 20 points, then it will go 15, 10, 8, 6, 5, 3, 2 and 1. This year, it went 10, 8, 6, 5, 4, 3, 2 and 1.

Also, the season will end in Abu Dhabi on November 14 after FIA switched the Yas Marina race with the Brazilian Grand Prix, which has been moved back to November 7.

More In: Motorsport | Sport