Japan’s Yudai Jinkawa and Ashwin Sundar (India) took the honours in the MRF 1,600 category races in the fourth round of the MMSC-FMSCI National racing (four-wheeler) championship at the MMRT, Irungattukottai near here on Sunday.

The first MRF 1600 race saw Tarun Reddy jump Yudai Jinkawa at the start before the safety car came out due to a collision between Advait Deodhar and Arjun Narendran. Both drivers retired on the spot.

Tarun continued to lead till the last lap when Jinkawa pulled off a brilliant move to pass the young Indian. Tarun had to settle for second place and was pushed to the line by a charging Vikash Anand.

In the second MRF 1600 race of the day, championship leader Ashwin Sundar clinched a chaotic race ahead of Vikash and Advait. Ashwin started on pole position but lost out at the start to Tarun. Ashwin reclaimed the top spot a few corners later, and almost collided with Tarun on the next straight while trying to re-pass him.

Tarun, while trying to overtake Ashwin at the end of the straight, spun off bringing the safety car on to track.

The race was red-flagged soon after as Kizuki Hirota failed to see the Safety Car board and crashed the back of Arjun Narendran on the start-finish straight. At the re-start Ashwin pulled away from the rest to extend his championship lead.

The results: MRF 1600: Race1: 1. Yudai Jinkawa, 2. Tarun Reddy, 3. Vikash Anand; Race 2: 1. Ashwin Sundar, 2. Vikash Anand, 3. Advait Deodhar. LGB F4: Race 3: 1. S. Narendran, 2. Jigar Muni, 3. D.R. Sudanand; LGB Formula Swift: Race 3: 1. Deepak Chinappa, 2. Raghul Ramaswamy, 3. K. Prashanth. IJTC: Race 2: 1. Feroze Khan, 2. V.J. Senthil, 3. Charen Chandran; Race 3: 1.Feroze Khan, 2. Biren Pitawala, 3. V.J. Senthil. ITC: Race 2: 1. N. Leelakrishnan, 2. V. Ramnarayan, 3. Arjun Narendran; Race 3: 1. N. Leelakrishnan, 2. V. Ramnarayan, 3. Arjun Narendran.

More In: Motorsport | Sport