Ashwin Sundar and Arjun Balu sealed the LGB Formula-4 and Indian Touring Cars Class titles respectively as the fifth and penultimate round of the 15th JK Tyre-FMSCI National Racing Championship concluded here on Sunday.

Ashwin beat his closest rival and teammate Sarosh Hatoria by a little more than a second to make it three wins out of three over the weekend, even as Arjun Balu dominated his class by winning both the races.

With this, both drivers have clinched their championships with a round to spare.

The day’s most exciting races, however, were in the Volkswagen Polo R Cup, where in the first race, Avdumber Hede, who started on pole, was pipped by championship leader Ameya Walavalkar into second place.

In the second race, Walavalkar, starting from eighth position on the reverse grid format, climbed up sixth places to finish second.

“A double podium finish is always great and to come up to second from eighth was definitely not easy,” said Walavalkar after the race.

Akhil Khushlani, who was the first past the finish line was penalised 20 seconds for a ‘jump start’ which put him outside the top three.

The sixth round and final round of the championship will be held at the Madras Motor Race Track on December 15th and 16th.

The results (Winners): Volkswagen Polo R Cup: Race 1: Ameya Walavalkar, 20.28:528s; Race 2: Rahil Noorani, 20.31:102s; LGB Formula 4: Race 3: Ashwin Sundar (Dark Don Racing), 20:57.155s; Indian Touring Cars: Race 2: Arjun Balu (Tiger Sport India), 19:57.393s; Indian Junior Touring Cars: Race 2: S. Feroze Khan, 22:18.470s.