After a not-so-impressive opener, Mumbai seasoned campaigner Ameya Walawalkar (Mars Racing) staged a strong comeback, completing a fine double in the Formula LGB Swift class in the second round of the JK Tyre-FMSCI National racing championship at the Kari Motor Speedway in Chettipalayam here on Sunday.

The double victory helped the 30-year-old driver, who runs N1 Racing (a performance store), climb up to the third place in the championship standings.

“It was really nice to win twice. It was a great feeling considering the fact that I had two DNFs in the opening round,” said Walawalkar.

Diljith sizzles

Meanwhile, Diljith T. Shaji of LCT Sigaram Sports scored a double in the Indian Junior Tour class. He also sealed the top spot in the championship standings after the stewards decided to strip defending champion B. Bala Vijay of Moto Rev India of his first place finishes in both races this weekend as the scrutinizers found a technically illegal component in his engine.

Strong contender B. Vijayakumar (Prime Racing) delighted home town fans with an exciting win in the Indian Touring Cars class. Championship leader T.R. Radha Selvarajan (Rad Racing) did give Vijayakumar a run for his money but the latter hung on to win a close contest.

The results: Formula LGB Swift (10 laps): 1. Ameya Walawalkar (Mars Racing) 12:19.697; 2. Goutham Parekh (Wallace Sports) 12:21.222; 3. Karthik Krishna (TVS Girling) 12:21.818. Fastest lap: Ameya Walawalkar 1:11.924.

Indian Touring Cars (10 laps): 1. B Vijayakumar (Prime Racing) 12:36.348; 2. T.R. Radha Selvarajan (Rad Racing) 12:37.277; 3. D. Vidya Prakash (Prime Racing) 12:55.033. Fastest lap: TR Radha Selvarajan 1:14.032.

Indian Junior Touring Cars (7 laps): 1. Diljith T Shaji (LCT Sigaram Sports) 9:36.453, 2. S. Narendran (IPL Power Pak Racing) 9:40.499, 3. Jai Prasanth Venkat (LCT Sigaram Sports) 9:46.348. Fastest lap: Diljith Shaji 1:19.445.

Drivers' standings (after four races): Formula LGB Swift: 1. R. Deepak 80 points; 2. Karthik Krishna 51; 3. Ameya Walawalkar 50; 4. K Prashant 35; 5. Goutham Parekh 33; 6. Sandeep Kumar 31.

Indian Touring Cars: 1. T.R. Radha Selvarajan 86 points, 2. V. Rajvirdhan 63; 3. B. Vijayakumar 60; 4. D. Vidya Prakash 46; 5. C. Rajaram 39; 6. Siddharth Kishore 22.

Indian Junior Touring Cars: 1. Diljith T. Shaji 86, 2. S. Narendran 66, 3. Jai Prashant Venkat 60, 4. B. Bala Vijay 50, 5. T. Prashanth 26, Gokul Krishna 24.

More In: Motorsport | Sport