Kiran Ravi and Megha Muthukumar entered the girls’ u-14 final with three-set semifinal wins in the KTC-India Pistons tourney on Wednesday.

The results:

U-14: Boys: Quarterfinals: Vijay Rajasekaran bt Vikram Dhananjay 0-6, 6-3, 7-5; S. Krishnan bt V. Sathyanathan 7-5, 6-1; Siddarth Arya bt R. Preeth Kumar 6-4, 7-5; V. Rohit bt M. Hariharan 6-2, 6-0. Girls: Semifinals: Kiran Ravi bt Aarthi Murali 6-4, 1-6, 6-3; Megha Muthukumar bt Sheetal Isaac 6-3, 2-6, 7-5.

Abhishek sizzles

Abhishek Venkatesh (98 not out) helped Prahlad CC to a handsome win over KSCA in the C.H. Robinson-WGCA u-12 Super League Trophy.

The scores: Budding Stars CA 63 for seven in 25 overs lost to FSCA 65 for one in 8.5 overs.

Prahlad CC 190 for no loss in 25 overs (Abhishek Venkatesh 98 n.o., R. Keshav 54 n.o.) bt KSCA 56 in 23.4 overs (Arun Srinivasan three for six, Abhijith Venkatesh three for five).

City CA 115 for seven in 25 overs (G. Chandra Kumar 34, Athreya three for six) bt RKM CA 110 for seven in 25 overs (P. Vidyut three for three).

Kedar CA 170 for four in 20 overs (S. Aakash 88, Yukendhiran three for 24) bt Victoria CA 49 in 16.3 overs (S. Abishek three for four).

Ramarao & Sen pair wins

The pair of A. Ramarao and Sen Philip won with a score of 65.45 IMPs playing in the  North–South direction, while V. Gowrishankar and T.M. Ravindran won from East-West with a score of 59.38 IMPs in the TNSC weekly bridge tournament.

Other results:

North-South: 2. P. Narayana Iyer & R.N. Subramanian; 3. S. Raghuraman & T.T. Chari.

East-West: 2. Hari & Lata Hari; 3. R.V.S. Manian & A. Mahadevan.

City teams trials

Boys born between Sept. 1, 1993 and Aug. 31, 1996, can register their names with the TNCA office, Chennai, on or before Aug. 9, for being considered for selection of City teams to take part in the under-19 selection tournament.

Selection will be held on Aug. 11, 12, and 13 and entry forms can be collected from the TNCA office on any working day between 10 a.m. and 6 p.m.

Masters’ tennis

SDAT Prince Tennis Academy will conduct an Independence Day Cup Masters’ tennis tournament (doubles) at the Academy courts from Aug. 15 for players above 35 years and who are non-professionals.

Tennis coaches and markers are not eligible.

The winners will get prize money of Rs. 15,000 besides trophies.

Entries close on Aug. 10 with Lokesh Kumar, mob: 99520 61005.


Prince FrederickMay 11, 2012

More In: Sport | Chennai