Today's Paper Archive Classifieds Subscriptions RSS Feeds Site Map ePaper Mobile Apps Social


Updated: December 21, 2009 15:55 IST

Jeev gets PGTI honorary life membership

Share  ·   print   ·  
Jeev Milka Singh
PTI Jeev Milka Singh

Country’s top golfer Jeev Milkha Singh, has been awarded the honorary life membership of the Professional Golf Tour of India while Bangalore pro Anirban Lahiri was named the Player of the Year.

Jeev, also an honorary life member of the Asian Tour, was conferred with the honour by PGTI president Gautam Thapar at the PGTI Annual Awards 2009 for being the true ambassador of Indian professional golf with his stellar performances in various international tours in recent years.

Lahiri received the Player of the Year award from Yogesh Shah, Managing Director of Rolex India.

Lahiri topped the Aircel—Professional Golf Tour of India’s Order of Merit for 2009 with total earnings of Rs.

36,57,853 in the year, which included two titles and had seven other top—10s out of 11 starts in the current season.

The Rolex First Time Winners Awards were presented to Indian professionals Gaganjeet Bhullar, Anirban Lahiri, Himmat Singh Rai, Amandeep Johl, Gurki Shergill, Vishal Singh, Gaurav Pratap Singh and Australia’s Kunal Bhasin.

These eight professionals registered their maiden victories on the Aircel—PGTI during the 2009 season.

Anthony Choat from Adelaide, Australia received the Aircel Emerging Player of the Year Award.

Choat won this award on the basis of accumulating the highest earnings (Rs. 5,75,553) among all those professionals who made their debut as full card holders on the Aircel—PGTI tour in the 2009 season. PTI

More In: Sport | Other Sports


Please remember to logout of facebook after you complete this session.



Recent Article in Sport

I-League: Salgaocar’s appeal muddles title race

A long-drawn appeal procedure initiated by Salgaocar FC has proved a dampener in the ongoing I-League title race.Salgaocar, which... »