Madhya Pradesh's Sanjay Jagdale will take over as secretary of the BCCI at the conclusion of its AGM on Monday. This was confirmed as Sunday as it emerged that he is the only candidate to have filed nomination papers for the post.

On the face of it, it may appear that unanimity has been obtained for the posts of three principal office-bearers (Sanjay Jagdale as secretary, Anurag Thakur as joint secretary and Ajay Shirke as treasurer) and five vice-presidents — Shivlal Yadav, Niranjan Shah, Arun Jaitley, Chitrak Mitra and Sudhir Dabir.

For almost a month and until Friday evening, Orissa's Ranjib Biswal seemed to be the only candidate for the post of secretary. The turn of developments leading to Sanjay Jagdale's nomination on Sunday seems to suggest that he did not get the support of the other affiliated members of the BCCI from East Zone.

Biswal had arrived here on Saturday afternoon with many officials of the Orissa Cricket Association and has preferred to stay at a hotel near the airport. “I will attend the AGM on Sunday,” he said.

Once it became clear that Sanjay Jagdale would become the secretary, the Central Zone member units proposed the name of Sudhir Dabir, former president of Vidarbha Cricket Association, for the vice-president's post instead of Jyotiraditya Scindia.

Sanjay Jagdale has played 53 first class matches as a right-hand batsman and right-hand leg-break bowler. After retiring from first class cricket, he made a mark as an administrator with the Madhya Pradesh Cricket Association.

He was instrumental in various developmental activities of the game in Indore and other parts of State, and was elected joint-secretary of the BCCI three years ago.

He has also served as a junior and senior selection committee member.

The BCCI's AGM here on Monday will appoint many committees, including the senior and junior national selection committee and permanent manager for the Indian team.

Keywords: BCCI elections

More In: Sport | Cricket