YES Bank, India’s fourth largest private sector bank, on Tuesday signed a multi-year deal with the Hockey India League (HIL) commencing with the 2014 season.

Announcing the deal, HIL chairman Narinder Batra said, “This is a fantastic, long-term partnership for the League. We look forward to our association with YES Bank to mobilise sports innovation and infuse positive energy into Hockey.”

Rana Kapoor, Managing Director & CEO, YES Bank said, “We are extremely pleased to associate with the HIL. Through our dedicated sports banking proposition, we are also committed to provide a robust financial infrastructure to support sports through customised banking solutions for various hockey associations, teams as well as players.”

In the inaugural season, 70 top domestic players including the Indian national side as well as 50 international players, who are part of the national squads of Australia, New Zealand, South Africa, Netherlands, Germany, Malaysia, Spain, and Argentina, played for the five franchise teams.

Of the 120 players who played in the inaugural Hero HIL, 60 were Olympians. The list includes winners of the FIH Player of the Year Award including Jamie Dwyer (2004, 2009, 2010, 2011), Teun de Nooijer (2003, 2005, 2006) and Moritz Fuerste (2012). Seven of the top 10 FIH rated players played in the HIL 2013.

Six franchise teams will feature in the second season of the HIL to be held from January 25 to February 23. The league will be an opportunity for 144 leading players to showcase their skills in 34 matches at six different venues.


HIL: Ramandeep is the highest paidNovember 22, 2013

More In: Hockey | Sport