Hockey India (HI) has recommended the name of Indian hockey team captain Sardar Singh for this year’s prestigious Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award.

Under Sardar’s captaincy, the Indian team reached the semifinals of the Champions Trophy in Melbourne last year. India also won the silver medal in the Asian Champions Trophy in Doha.

Strikers Danish Mujtaba and Tushar Khandker, drag-flicker V.R. Raghunath and former captain and goalkeeper Bharat Chetri have been recommended for the Arjuna Award.

Ritu Rani,Saba Anjum andJoydeep Kaur have been recommended for the Arjuna Award in the women’s category. HI has recommended current selector and Olympian Syed Ali for the Dhyan Chand Award.

More In: Hockey | Sport