Indian hockey captain Sardar Singh on Saturday missed out on the FIH Player of the Year award, which was won by Germany’s Moritz Fuerste.

Fuerste, captain of the German team that won the Olympic Games gold medal, was picked as the most outstanding player from a field that included Australian captain Jamie Dwyer, Robert van der Horst of the Netherlands, Fuerste’s teammate Tobias Hauke and Sardar. He received his award on the field during the Champions Trophy matches in Melbourne.

The German celebration was doubled when Fuerste’s teammate Florian Fuchs was selected as the Young Player of the Year. The other finalists for the award were Simon Gougnard of Belgium, England’s Harry Martin, Argentine Gonzalo Peillat and Pakistan’s Muhammad Rizwan Jr.

More In: Hockey | Sport