Orissa advanced to the quarterfinals with a 5-2 win over Delhi, while Madhya Pradesh reached the last eight despite drawing with Chandigarh 1-1 in the National women's hockey championship here on Monday.

The Pool F match between Madhya Pradesh and Chandigarh turned out to be the keenest of the contests in the championship so far.

Madhya Pradesh's lead through Ranjeeta's 28th-minute goal was short-lived as Nishi equalised for Chandigarh in the next minute.

Both sides had a win and a draw each after the contest and Madhya Pradesh managed to scrape through on the basis of better goal difference. Madhya Pradesh will meet host Haryana in the quarterfinals.

In the initial minutes of the Pool G engagement, Orissa's strikers made a mess of several moves and allowed the opposition to counter-attack.

The team drew first blood in the 14th minute through right-winger Surabhi. Two minutes later, Delhi drew parity as Sweta Sharma cashed in on a defensive lapse.

Thanks to Surabhi's short corner conversion in the 26th minute, the half-time score read 2-1 in Orissa's favour.

In the second half, Surabhi (53rd) completed her hat-trick and Lilima (58th, 60th) scored a brace to help their team move ahead. Rana Praveen (56th) reduced the margin for Delhi. Orissa will take on the Pool E topper in the last eight.

At the Motilal Nehru School of Sports, Rajasthan's Prakash slammed in 32 goals, which contained 10 hat-tricks, against a novice Tripura in Pool D. Sonam and Navreet were the other scorers in Rajasthan's 34-0 victory.

Meanwhile, Uttar Pradesh has reached the knockout stage from Pool C. It will face Railways in the quarterfinals.

The results: Pool C: Chhattisgarh 4 (Renuka 2, Babita and Pushpa) bt Manipur 1 (Roma Devi).

Pool D: Punjab 6 (Th. Anuradha 3, Amandeep, Lalremruati and Vartika) bt Maharashtra 0; Rajasthan 34 (Prakash 32, Sonam, Navreet) bt Tripura 0.

Pool E: Himachal Pradesh 2 (Soni and Monika) bt Kerala 1 (Dhanashree); Jharkhand w/o Bengal.

Pool F: Madhya Pradesh 1 (Ranjeeta) drew with Chandigarh (Nishi).

Pool G: Orissa 5 (Surabhi 3, Lilima 2) bt Delhi 2 (Sweta Sharma, Rana Praveen).

More In: Hockey | Sport