Haryana and Maharashtra recorded massive wins and Karnataka cruised comfortably as 66 goals were scored on the opening day of the National women's hockey championship at the hockey complex of the Motilal Nehru School of Sports here on Friday.

A ruthless Haryana mauled Assam 32-0 in the Pool H, while Maharashtra routed a lowly Tripura 25-0 in a Pool ‘D' engagement. Karnataka outsmarted Bihar 8-1 in a Pool B contest.

Thanks to the spirited effort of Bihar, the Pool ‘B' match had some interesting moments despite being a one-sided affair.

Karnataka struck in the very first minute with Kulsumbi converting a penalty corner.

Muthama broke the brief resistance offered by the Bihar defenders and scored the second goal in the 17th minute with a deft placing. Ranjitha extended the lead three minutes later to put her side on top.

Ponamma (30th) converted a penalty corner and Kulsumbi's alert attempt before the first hooter helped their side go into the break with a 5-0 lead.

Ponamma strikes again

Ponamma again struck soon after the change of ends as she converted a short corner off an indirect variation.

Undaunted, Bihar reduced the margin through Guddi's goal in the 55th minute. The Bihar captain struck a firm shot from just inside the circle to open her team's account.

Bihar's inconsistency allowed Kulsumbi (67th) and Ponamma (68th) to score once more each.

The margin of victory could have been bigger for Karnataka had its forwards not wasted a few opportunities, including five penalty corners.

Haryana literally toyed with Assam and scored goals at will. Surinder Kaur (7), Monika (6), Jasvinder (6), Navjot (5, including a hat-trick), Mamta Kaharb (2) and Ramandeep (2) contributed mainly in the onslaught. Kiran, Sandeep Kaur, Jaspreet and Savita also scored a goal each.


The contest was so heavily titled towards the host, which led 15-0 at half-time, that scoring of goals after a point became a monotonous affair.

In the first match of the day, Maharashtra, despite being not very impressive, inflicted a humiliating defeat on an inexperienced Tripura, fielded by its state Olympic association. Sonali (6), Sarika (4), Harshala (4), Vaishali (4), Pratibha (3), Sarita (2), Nikhat and K. Bhagyashree were the scorers.

Haryana Chief Minister Bhoopinder Singh Hooda formally inaugurated the championship.

More In: Hockey | Sport