The disciplinary committee of Hockey India, on Tuesday, decided to impose sanctions on various teams, individual players and officials for breach of code of conduct during recent domestic tournaments.

Taking a serious view of assault and misbehaviour by the Rajnandgaon XI team during the first all-India VHA-Nagpur Gold Cup, the committee imposed a 12-month ban on team manager Koshor Diwar and one of the players, Rahul Yadav, with effect from May 6, 2014.

The incident happened on April 23 during a game against SEC Railways, when Yadav assaulted an opposition player, while Diwar repeatedly used foul language and walked his team off the field.

The two will also be on probation for a year after the ban is completed.

A six-month ban was also imposed on the other 15 members of the team.

In another incident, Hockey Bhopal general secretary Jalaluddin Rizvi was warned and put on one-year probation for publicly criticising tournament regulations during the fourth Hockey India junior women’s national championship in Mysore.

Tournament director Davinder Bhatia was also put on probation for being unfairly biased against international umpire Anupama Puchimanda.

The guilty can appeal to the Athletes Dispute & Grievance Redressal Committee within 30 days.

More In: Hockey | Sport